Best Books, Fantasy, Fiction, For Fans Of, Science Fiction, Similar to

The Best Books For Fans Of The Hitchhiker’s Guide To The Galaxy

January 1, 2018
HItchhikkers Guide To The galaxy & Douglas Adams

“What are the best books For Fans Of Douglas Adams Hitchhikers Guide To The Galaxy?” We looked at 151 of the top books, aggregating and ranking them so we could answer that very question!

The top 17 books, all appearing on 2 or more “Best Books Similar To Hitchhikers Guide To The Galaxy” lists, are ranked below by how many times they appear. The remaining 100+ titles, as well as the lists we used, are in alphabetical order at the bottom of the page.

Happy Scrolling!



Top 17 Best Books For Fans Of The Hitchhikers Guide To The Galaxy



17 .) A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle

Lists It Appears On:

  • BBC America
  • Taste Dive

“It was a dark and stormy night; Meg Murry, her small brother Charles Wallace, and her mother had come down to the kitchen for a midnight snack when they were upset by the arrival of a most disturbing stranger.

“”Wild nights are my glory,”” the unearthly stranger told them. “”I just got caught in a downdraft and blown off course. Let me sit down for a moment, and then I’ll be on my way. Speaking of ways, by the way, there is such a thing as a tesseract.””

A tesseract (in case the reader doesn’t know) is a wrinkle in time. To tell more would rob the reader of the enjoyment of Miss L’Engle’s unusual book. A Wrinkle in Time, winner of the Newbery Medal in 1963, is the story of the adventures in space and time of Meg, Charles Wallace, and Calvin O’Keefe (athlete, student, and one of the most popular boys in high school). They are in search of Meg’s father, a scientist who disappeared while engaged in secret work for the government on the tesseract problem.”

Purchase / Learn More



16 .) And Another Thing by Eoin Colfer

Lists It Appears On:

  • Taste Dive
  • Barnes & Noble

And Another Thing … will be the sixth novel in the now improbably named Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy trilogy. Eight years after the death of its creator, Douglas Adams, the author’s widow, Jane Belson, has given her approval for the project to be continued by the international number one bestselling children’s writer, Eoin Colfer, author of the Artemis Fowl novels. Douglas Adams himself once said, ‘I suspect at some point in the future I will write a sixth Hitchhiker book. Five seems to be a wrong kind of number, six is a better kind of number.’ Belson said of Eoin Colfer, ‘I love his books and could not think of a better person to transport Arthur, Zaphod and Marvin to pastures new.’ Colfer, a fan of Hitchhiker since his schooldays, said, ‘Being given the chance to write this book is like suddenly being offered the superpower of your choice. For years I have been finishing this incredible story in my head and now I have the opportunity to do it in the real world.’ Prepare to be amazed…

Purchase / Learn More



15 .) Bill, the Galatic Hero by Harry Harrison

Lists It Appears On:

  • Library Point
  • Quora

Bill was a peaceful farm boy until he was lured by the martial music of a passing recruitment sergeant, drugged, and made to enlist in the Empire Space Corps. His basic training is sheer hell, but somehow he manages to stay alive and achieve the rank of Fusetender 6th Class in the process. En route to an engagement with the lizard-like Chingers, Bill’s spaceship is involved in a supreme conflict and — by accident — Bill is the man who saves the ship and wins the day. A grateful Galaxy awards him its highest accolade: the Purple Dart, to be presented by the Emperor himself on the fabulous aluminium-covered planet Helio. And then his adventures really start to take off in the most bizarre and surprising ways …

Purchase / Learn More



14 .) Guards, Guards! by Terry Pratchett

Lists It Appears On:

  • Reddit
  • Taste Dive

“Long believed extinct, a superb specimen of draco nobilis (“”noble dragon”” for those who don’t understand italics) has appeared in Discworld’s greatest city. Not only does this unwelcome visitor have a nasty habit of charbroiling everything in its path, in rather short order it is crowned King (it is a noble dragon, after all…). How did it get there? How is the Unique and Supreme Lodge of the Elucidated Brethren of the Ebon Night involved? Can the Ankh-Morpork City Watch restore order – and the Patrician of Ankh-Morpork to power?

Magic, mayhem, and a marauding dragon…who could ask for anything more?”

Purchase / Learn More



13 .) Infinity Welcomes Careful Drivers (Red Dwarf #1) by Grant Naylor

Lists It Appears On:

  • Goodreads
  • Goodreads 2

Awakening from a drunken spree in a London pub to find himself on one of Saturn’s moons, Lister joins the Space Corps and boards the Red Dwarf, determined to return to Earth

Purchase / Learn More



12 .) Interesting Times (Discworld, #17; Rincewind #5) by Terry Pratchett

Lists It Appears On:

  • Taste Dive
  • Goodreads

“Another outrageously clever installment in the Discworld files, Interesting Times reminds the world why Terry Pratchett is considered the best fantasy and humor writer in the English speaking world.

When a carrier albatross arrives from the Counterweight Continent with an Urgent Request for a “”Great Wizard,”” Rincewind is “”volunteered.”” Along his absurdly delicious travels, he meets a colorful band of characters only Terry Pratchett could compile. Their mission is to either defend or destroy the Forbidden City of Hunghung. The instructions are not entirely clear.”

Purchase / Learn More



11 .) Lords and Ladies (Discworld, #14; Witches #4) by Terry Pratchett

Lists It Appears On:

  • Taste Dive
  • Goodreads 2

The fairies are back, but this time they don’t just want your teeth . . . Granny Weatherwax and her tiny coven are up against real elves. There’s a full supporting cast of dwarfs, wizards, trolls, Morris dancers and one orangutan. It’s Midsummer Night — no time for dreaming. And lots of hey-nonny-nonny and blood all over the place.

Purchase / Learn More



10 .) Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman

Lists It Appears On:

  • BBC America
  • Taste Dive

Richard Mayhew is a young London businessman with a good heart whose life is changed forever when he stops to help a bleeding girl—an act of kindness that plunges him into a world he never dreamed existed. Slipping through the cracks of reality, Richard lands in Neverwhere—a London of shadows and darkness, monsters and saints, murderers and angels that exists entirely in a subterranean labyrinth. Neverwhere is home to Door, the mysterious girl Richard helped in the London Above. Here in Neverwhere, Door is a powerful noblewoman who has vowed to find the evil agent of her family’s slaughter and thwart the destruction of this strange underworld kingdom. If Richard is ever to return to his former life and home, he must join Lady Door’s quest to save her world—and may well die trying.

Purchase / Learn More



9 .) The Eyre Affair by Jasper Fforde

Lists It Appears On:

  • Library Point
  • Quora

Fans of Douglas Adams and P. G. Wodehouse will love visiting Jasper Fforde’s Great Britain, circa 1985, when time travel is routine, cloning is a reality (dodos are the resurrected pet of choice), and literature is taken very, very seriously: it’s a bibliophile’s dream. England is a virtual police state where an aunt can get lost (literally) in a Wordsworth poem and forging Byronic verse is a punishable offense. All this is business as usual for Thursday Next, renowned Special Operative in literary detection. But when someone begins kidnapping characters from works of literature and plucks Jane Eyre from the pages of Brontë’s novel, Thursday is faced with the challenge of her career. Fforde’s ingenious fantasy—enhanced by a Web site that re-creates the world of the novel—unites intrigue with English literature in a delightfully witty mix.

Purchase / Learn More



8 .) The Long Dark Tea-Time Of The Soul by Douglas Adams

Lists It Appears On:

  • Quora
  • Taste Dive

When a passenger check-in desk shoots through the roof of a terminal at Heathrow Airport in flames, Dirk Gently investigates the cosmic forces at play

Purchase / Learn More



7 .) The Time Machine by H.G. Wells

Lists It Appears On:

  • Taste Dive
  • Goodreads

H.G. Wells, a pioneer in the science fiction genre, produced awesomely imaginative novels whose technologies seem impossibly sophisticated for a writer living in an era before automobiles and the widespread application of electricity. In his work The Time Machine, Wells Time Traveller, a gentleman inventor living in England, traverses first thousands of years and then millions into the future, before bringing back the knowledge of the grave degeneration of the human race and the planet. One wonders if Wells could truly see into the future, as over 100 years after its publication date his visions seem timelier than ever.

Purchase / Learn More



6 .) To Say Nothing of the Dog, Or How We Found the Bishop’s Bird Stump at Last by Connie Willis

Lists It Appears On:

  • Library Point
  • AM Reading

“Ned Henry is badly in need of a rest. He’s been shuttling between the 21st century and the 1940s searching for a Victorian atrocity called the bishop’s bird stump. It’s part of a project to restore the famed Coventry Cathedral, destroyed in a Nazi air raid over a hundred years earlier.

But then Verity Kindle, a fellow time traveler, inadvertently brings back something from the past. Now Ned must jump back to the Victorian era to help Verity put things right–not only to save the project but to prevent altering history itself.”

Purchase / Learn More



5 .) Good Omens by Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett

Lists It Appears On:

  • Quora
  • Reddit
  • Taste Dive

“There is a distinct hint of Armageddon in the air. According to The Nice and Accurate Prophecies of Agnes Nutter, Witch (recorded, thankfully, in 1655, before she blew up her entire village and all its inhabitants, who had gathered to watch her burn), the world will end on a Saturday. Next Saturday, in fact. So the armies of Good and Evil are amassing, the Four Bikers of the Apocalypse are revving up their mighty hogs and hitting the road, and the world’s last two remaining witch-finders are getting ready to fight the good fight, armed with awkwardly antiquated instructions and stick pins. Atlantis is rising, frogs are falling, tempers are flaring. . . . Right. Everything appears to be going according to Divine Plan.

Except that a somewhat fussy angel and a fast-living demon — each of whom has lived among Earth’s mortals for many millennia and has grown rather fond of the lifestyle — are not particularly looking forward to the coming Rapture. If Crowley and Aziraphale are going to stop it from happening, they’ve got to find and kill the Antichrist (which is a shame, as he’s a really nice kid). There’s just one glitch: someone seems to have misplaced him. . . .”

Purchase / Learn More



4 .) Cat’s Cradle by Kurt Vonnegut

Lists It Appears On:

  • Quora
  • Reddit
  • AM Reading
  • Library Point

Cat’s Cradle is Kurt Vonnegut’s satirical commentary on modern man and his madness. An apocalyptic tale of this planet’s ultimate fate, it features a midget as the protagonist, a complete, original theology created by a calypso singer, and a vision of the future that is at once blackly fatalistic and hilariously funny. A book that left an indelible mark on an entire generation of readers, Cat’s Cradle is one of the twentieth century’s most important works—and Vonnegut at his very best.

Purchase / Learn More



3 .) Foundation by Isaac Asimov

Lists It Appears On:

  • Taste Dive
  • Goodreads 2
  • Goodreads
  • Taste Dive

It is the saga of the Galactic Empire, crumbling after twelve thousand years of rule. And it is the particular story of psychohistorian Hari Seldon, the only man who can see the horrors the future has in store—a dark age of ignorance, barbarism, and violence that will last for thirty thousand years. Gathering a band of courageous men and women, Seldon leads them to a hidden location at the edge of the galaxy, where he hopes they can preserve human knowledge and wisdom through the age of darkness.

Purchase / Learn More



2 .) The Colour of Magic by Terry Pratchett

Lists It Appears On:

  • AM Reading
  • BBC America
  • Library Point
  • Taste Dive

“The beginning of the hilarious and irreverent series that has more than 80 million copies worldwide, The Color of Magic is where we meet tourist Twoflower and wizard guide Ricewind, and follow them on their always-bizarre journeys.

A writer who has been compared to Mark Twain, Kurt Vonnegut, and Douglas Adams, Sir Terry Pratchett has created a complex, yet zany world filled with a host of unforgettable characters who navigate around a profound fantasy universe, complete with its own set of cultures and rules.”

Purchase / Learn More



1 .) Dirk Gently’s Holistic Detective Agency by Douglas Adams

Lists It Appears On:

  • Quora
  • Reddit
  • Taste Dive
  • AM Reading
  • Barnes & Noble

“DIRK GENTLY’S HOLISTIC DETECTIVE AGENCY
We solve the whole crime
We find the whole person
Phone today for the whole solution to your problem
(Missing cats and messy divorces a specialty)

Douglas Adams, the “master of wacky words and even wackier tales” (Entertainment Weekly) once again boggles the mind with a completely unbelievable story of ghosts, time travel, eccentric computer geniuses, Samuel Taylor Coleridge, the end of the world, and—of course—missing cats.”

Purchase / Learn More




The 125+ Additional Best Books similar to The Hitchhikers Guide To The Galaxy



 

# Book Author Lists
(Titles Appear On 1 List Each)
18 2001: A Space Odyssey Taste Dive
19 A Brief History of Britain 1066-1485 Nicholas Vincent Goodreads
20 A Fine and Pleasant Misery Reddit
21 A Hat Full Of Sky Taste Dive
22 A Scanner Darkly Philip K. Dick
Goodreads 2
23 Absolution Gap Alastair Reynolds
Goodreads 2
24 Agatha Heterodyne and the Siege of Mechanicsburg (Girl Genius, #12) Phil Foglio Goodreads
25 American Gods Taste Dive
26 Anansi Boys Taste Dive
27 Another Roadside Attraction Tom Robbins
Library Point
28 Anowa Ama Ata Aidoo
AM Reading
29 Backwards (Red Dwarf #4) Rob Grant Goodreads
30 Bellwether Connie Willis
Goodreads 2
31 Bossy Pants Quora
32 Brothers in Arms (Vorkosigan Saga, #5) Lois McMaster Bujold
Goodreads 2
33 Callahan’s Crosstime Saloon Reddit
34 Carpe Jugulum Taste Dive
35 Castle Perilous Reddit
36 Catch-22 Reddit
37 Chicks in Chainmail Reddit
38 City of Death James Goss, Douglas Adams, & David Fisher
Barnes & Noble
39 Cowboy Feng Reddit
40 Diamond Mask (Galactic Milieu Trilogy, #2) Julian May Goodreads
41 Dimension of Miracles” Robert Sheckly Quora
42 Disc World Taste Dive
43
Do Androids Dream Of Electric Sheep?
Taste Dive
44 Dune Taste Dive
45 Earth David Brin
Goodreads 2
46 Ender’s Game Taste Dive
47 Ender’s Shadow Taste Dive
48 Equal Rites Taste Dive
49 Eric Taste Dive
50 Feet Of Clay Taste Dive
51
Fierce Invalids Home from Hot Climate
Quora
52 First Contact: Or, It’s Later Than You Think Evan Mandery Jet Shred
53 Foreigner (Foreigner, #1) C.J. Cherryh
Goodreads 2
54 Fragile Things Taste Dive
55 Going Postal Taste Dive
56 Hal Spacejock Simon Haynes Goodreads
57 His Dark Materials Taste Dive
58 Hogfather Taste Dive
59 I Shall Wear Midnight Taste Dive
60 I, Robot Taste Dive
61 Jhereg Reddit
62 Jingo Taste Dive
63 Life, The Universe And Everything Taste Dive
64 Making Money Taste Dive
65 Maskerade Taste Dive
66 Men At Arms Taste Dive
67 Methuselah’s Children Robert A. Heinlein Goodreads
68 Monstrous Regiment Taste Dive
69 More Trees to Climb Ben Moor
BBC America
70 Mort Taste Dive
71 Mostly Harmless Taste Dive
72 Mother Night Reddit
73 Moving Pictures Taste Dive
74 Mussolini: His Part In My Downfall (War Memoirs, #4) Spike Milligan Goodreads
75 Neuromancer Taste Dive
76 Night Watch Taste Dive
77 Nursery Crimes Quora
78 Phule’s Company Reddit
79 Pyramids Taste Dive
80 Reaper Man Taste Dive
81 Rendezvous With Rama Taste Dive
82 Resplendent (Destiny’s Children, #4) Stephen Baxter Goodreads
83 Right Ho, Jeeves Reddit
84 Ringworld Taste Dive
85 Sirens of Titan Reddit
86 Slaughterhouse 5 Reddit
87 Small Gods Taste Dive
88 Smoke And Mirrors Taste Dive
89 Snow Crash Taste Dive
90
So Long, And Thanks For All The Fish
Taste Dive
91 So You Want to Be a Wizard Diane Duane
Barnes & Noble
92 Soul Music Taste Dive
93 Sourcery Taste Dive
94 Sparks David Quantick
BBC America
95 Speaker For The Dead Taste Dive
96 Spellsinger Reddit
97 Stardust Taste Dive
98 Starship Titanic” Terry Jones Quora
99 Starship Troopers Taste Dive
100 Stranger In A Strange Land Taste Dive
101 SuperMutant Magic Academy Jillian Tamaki
Barnes & Noble
102
Surely you must be joking Mr. Feynman
Quora
103
The Amazing Maurice And His Educated Rodents
Taste Dive
104 The Amber Spyglass Taste Dive
105 The Big Over Easy Reddit
106 The Brentford Triangle Robert Rankin Goodreads
107 The Complete Alan Moore Future Shocks Alan Moore and Various Artists
Barnes & Noble
108 The Complete Robot (Robot #0.3) Isaac Asimov Goodreads
109 The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time Mark Haddon
Library Point
110 The Day of the Triffids John Wyndham
Goodreads 2
111 The Fellowship Of The Ring Taste Dive
112 The Fifth Elephant Taste Dive
113 The Golden Compass Taste Dive
114 The Great Dune Trilogy Frank Herbert Goodreads
115 The Humans Matt Haig
BBC America
116 The Hyperion Omnibus: Hyperion / The Fall of Hyperion Dan Simmons Goodreads
117 The Last Continent Taste Dive
118 The Last Hero Taste Dive
119 The Light Fantastic Taste Dive
120 The Naked God (Night’s Dawn, #3) Peter F. Hamilton Goodreads
121 The Next Set (Thursday Next, #1-4) Jasper Fforde Goodreads
122 The Philosophical Strangler Eric Flint
Library Point
123 The Player of Games (Culture, #2) Iain M. Banks
Goodreads 2
124 The Princess Bride Taste Dive
125 The Reluctant King Reddit
126 The Rest of Us Just Live Here Patrick Ness
BBC America
127
The Restaurant At The End Of The Universe
Taste Dive
128 The Return Of The King Taste Dive
129 The Salmon Of Doubt Taste Dive
130 The Sandman Taste Dive
131 The Secret of Platform 13 Eva Ibbotson
AM Reading
132 The Sheriff of Yrnameer Michael Rubens Jet Shred
133 The Stainless Steel Rat Quora
134 The Subtle Knife Taste Dive
135 The Tasmanian Babes Fiasco John Birmingham Goodreads
136 The Tripods Trilogy (The Tripods, #1-3) John Christopher
Goodreads 2
137 The Truth Taste Dive
138 The Two Towers Taste Dive
139 The War Of The Worlds Taste Dive
140 The Wee Free Men Taste Dive
141 The Winds of Dune (Heroes of Dune #2) Brian Herbert Goodreads
142 They Shoot Canoes Don’t Reddit
143 Thief Of Time Taste Dive
144 Thud! Taste Dive
145
Twenty Thousand Leagues Under The Sea
Taste Dive
146 Unseen Academicals Taste Dive
147 V For Vendetta Taste Dive
148 Watchmen Taste Dive
149 Wintersmith Taste Dive
150 Witches Abroad Taste Dive
151 Wyrd Sisters Taste Dive


10 Best Book For Fans Of Douglas AdamsSources/Lists



Source Article
AM Reading 6 Books To Read If You Loved ‘Hitchhiker’s Guide To The Galaxy’
Barnes & Noble Fighting Post-Hitchhiker’s Disorder: 6 Essential Books for Douglas Adams Fans
BBC America 7 Books All Douglas Adams Fans Should Read
Goodreads Books like The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy: A Trilogy in Four Parts
Goodreads 2 Books like The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy (Hitchhiker’s Guide, #1)
Jet Shred Books Like Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy
Library Point If You Like The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams
Quora Are there any other books like Hitchhiker’s Guide To The Galaxy?
Reddit Can anyone suggest books similar to Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy?
Taste Dive IF YOU LIKE

 

You Might Also Like