The Best Books For Fans Of Andy Warhol

“What are the best books about Andy Warhol?” We looked at 128 of the top Andy Warhol books, aggregating and ranking them so we could answer that very question!

The top 23 titles, all appearing on 2 or more “Best Andy Warhol” book lists, are ranked below by how many lists they appear on. The remaining 100+ titles, as well as the lists we used are in alphabetical order at the bottom of the page.

Happy Scrolling!



Top 23 Books About Andy Warhol



23 .) a: A Novel written by Andy Warhol

Lists It Appears On:

  • Goodreads
  • Thrift Books

Conceptually unique, hilarious, and frightening, a: A Novel is the perfect literary manifestation of Andy Warhol’s sensibility. In the late sixties, Warhol set out to turn a trade book into a piece of pop art, and the result was this astonishing account of the artists, superstars, addicts, and freaks who made up the Factory milieu. Created from audiotapes recorded in and around the Factory, a: A Novel begins with the fabulous Ondine popping several amphetamines and then follows its characters as they converse with inspired, speed-driven wit and cut swaths through the clubs, coffee shops, hospitals, and whorehouses of 1960s Manhattan.



22 .) America written by Andy Warhol

Lists It Appears On:

  • Goodreads
  • Thrift Books

He created his own universe and became its star’ David Cronenberg, Guardian Andy Warhol carried a camera with him everywhere he went and, taken from ten years of extraordinary shots, his America aspires to the strange beauty and staggering contradictions of the country itself. Exploring his greatest obsessions – including image and celebrity – he photographs wrestlers and politicians, the beautiful wealthy and the disenfranchised poor, Capote with the fresh scars of a facelift and Madonna hiding beneath a brunette bob. He writes about the country he loves, wishing he had died when he was shot, commercialism, fame and beauty. An America without Warhol is almost as inconceivable as Warhol without America, and this touching, witty tribute is the great artist of the superficial at his most deeply personal.



21 .) Andy Warhol written by Andy Warhol

Lists It Appears On:

  • Goodreads
  • Thrift Books

Andy Warhol (1928-1987), one of the most celebrated artists of the last third of the twentieth century, owes his unique place in the history of visual culture not to the mastery of a single medium but to the exercise of multiple media and roles. A legendary art world figure, he worked as an artist, filmmaker, photographer, collector, author, and designer. Beginning in the 1950s as a commercial artist, he went on to produce work for exhibition in galleries and museums. The range of his efforts soon expanded to the making of films, photography, video, and books. Warhol first came to public notice in the 1960s through works that drew on advertising, brand names, and newspaper stories and headlines. Many of his best-known images, both single and in series, were produced within the context of pop art. Warhol was a major figure in the bridging of the gap between high and low art, and his mode of production in the famous studio known as “The Factory” involved the recognition of art making as one form of enterprise among others.



20 .) Andy Warhol was a Hoarder: Inside the Minds of History’s Great Personalities written by Claudia Kalb

Lists It Appears On:

  • Chapters
  • Goodreads

Was Andy Warhol a hoarder? Did Einstein have autism? Was Frank Lloyd Wright a narcissist? In this surprising, inventive, and meticulously researched look at the evolution of mental health, acclaimed health and science journalist Claudia Kalb gives readers a glimpse into the lives of high-profile historic figures through the lens of modern psychology, weaving groundbreaking research into biographical narratives that are deeply embedded in our culture. From Marilyn Monroe’s borderline personality disorder to Charles Darwin’s anxiety, Kalb provides compelling insight into a broad range of maladies, using historical records and interviews with leading mental health experts, biographers, sociologists, and other specialists. Packed with intriguing revelations, this smart narrative brings a new perspective to one of the hottest new topics in today’s cultural conversation.



19 .) Andy Warhol: 365 Takes written by Andy Warhol

Lists It Appears On:

  • Chapters
  • Moderna Museet

Andy Warhol was one of the most compelling figures of the 20th-century art world whose body of work transformed the landscape of contemporary art. He was also a notorious collector who saved practically everything that came his way. In 1994, seven years after the artist’s death, The Andy Warhol Museum in Pittsburgh became the repository not only for a substantial body of his artwork and films, but also for the Time Capsules into which he obsessively deposited a lifetime’s worth of ephemera and personal memorabilia. For this book–created in the same format as Abrams’ best-selling Earth From Above: 365 Days–the museum has gathered highlights of its collection. Illustrated with almost 400 objects, from paintings to party invitations, the volume also features lively commentaries by the museum’s staff as well as quotes from Warhol’s own irreverent writings. Timed to coincide with the celebration of the museum’s 10-year anniversary, this book will serve as both an introduction to and a handbook for the most extensive collection anywhere of this iconic artist’s work.



18 .) Andy Warhol: Photography written by Andy Warhol

Lists It Appears On:

  • Moderna Museet
  • Thrift Books

A revealing look at the full spectrum of Andy Warhol’s use of photography.



17 .) Andy Warhol: Self-Portraits written by Andy Warhol

Lists It Appears On:

  • Moderna Museet
  • Thrift Books

Perhaps no other artist from the second half of the 20th century is as familiar to the public as Andy Warhol–and his self-portraits can hardly be said to have played a lackluster role with regards to the artist’s celebrity. U.S. postage stamp anyone? Occupying a position of central importance in his oeuvre, Warhol’s self-portraits also occupy a consistent, long-running one. From the first self-images in gouache painted by 16-year-old Andrew Warhol in the mid-40s to the fright-wig series completed shortly before his death in February 1987, Andy Warhol continually used self-portraiture to reflect on his position and social status as an artist, performing a variety of roles in the process. Yet he never made use of the traditional topos of the artist’s self-portrait; his fascination with transience and death is constantly present, as in his other works. Although a seemingly endless number of books have been published on Warhol’s various work groups, this is the first monograph devoted exclusively to his self-portraits. The accompanying essays discuss different aspects of the theme and examine Warhol’s self-portraits in the light of an expanded concept of the artist’s self-portrait in the 20th century.



16 .) Andy Warhol’s Party Book written by Andy Warhol

Lists It Appears On:

  • Goodreads
  • Thrift Books



15 .) Angels, Angels, Angels written by Andy Warhol

Lists It Appears On:

  • Goodreads
  • Thrift Books



14 .) Cats, Cats, Cats written by Andy Warhol

Lists It Appears On:

  • Goodreads
  • Thrift Books



13 .) Ho, Ho, Ho! written by Andy Warhol

Lists It Appears On:

  • Goodreads
  • Thrift Books



12 .) I’ll Be Your Mirror: The Selected Andy Warhol Interviews 1962–1987 written by Andy Warhol

Lists It Appears On:

  • Goodreads
  • Moderna Museet

The Question-and-Answer interview was one of Andy Warhol’s favorite communication vehicles, so much so that he named his own magazine after the form. Yet, never before has anyone published a collection of interviews that Warhol himself gave. I’ll Be Your Mirror contains more then thirty conversations revealing this unique and important artist. Each piece presents a different facet of the Sphinx-like Warhol’s ever-evolving personality. Writer Kenneth Goldsmith provides context and provenance for each selection. Beginning in 1962 with a notorious interview in which Warhol literally begs the interviewer to put words into his mouth, the book covers Warhol’s most important artistic period during the ’60s. As Warhol shifts to filmmaking in the ’70s, this collection explores his emergence as socialite, scene-maker, and trendsetter; his influential Interview magazine; and the Studio 54 scene. In the 80s, his support of young artists like Jean-Michel Basquait, his perspective on art history and the growing relationship to technology in his work are shown. Finally, his return to religious imagery and spirituality are available in an interview conducted just months before his death. Including photographs and previous unpublished interviews, this collage of Warhol showcases the artist’s ability to manipulate, captivate, and enrich American culture.



11 .) Love, Love, Love written by Andy Warhol

Lists It Appears On:

  • Goodreads
  • Thrift Books



10 .) POPism: The Warhol Sixties written by Andy Warhol

Lists It Appears On:

  • Goodreads
  • Thrift Books

Anecdotal, funny, frank, POPism is Warhol’s personal view of the Pop phenomenon in New York in the 1960s and a look back at the relationships that made up the scene at the Factory, including his rela­tionship with Edie Sedgewick, focus of the upcoming film Factory Girl. In the detached, back-fence gossip style he was famous for, Warhol tells all—the ultimate inside story of a decade of cultural revolution.



9 .) Shoes, Shoes, Shoes written by Andy Warhol

Lists It Appears On:

  • Goodreads
  • Thrift Books

Shoes, Shoes, Shoes collects the outrageous and bedazzling images of shoes – from spikes to boots to mules – that are some of Warhol’s icon images. Accompanied throughout by witty Warhol quotations, such as “I decided that being a shoe salesman is a really sexy job,” these forty drawings, prints, and watercolors demonstrate the Pop master’s special talent for transforming Shoes, Shoes, Shoes collects the outrageous and bedazzling images of shoes – from spikes to boots to mules – that are some of Warhol’s icon images. Accompanied throughout by witty Warhol quotations, such as “I decided that being a shoe salesman is a really sexy job,” these forty drawings, prints, and watercolors demonstrate the Pop master’s special talent for transforming the ordinary into the extraordinary. The art has been culled from the archives of the Andy Warhol Foundation for the Visual Arts and includes never before published rarities as well as popular prints from Warhol’s heyday. Warhol fans will want to try this book on for size, and will be amused by the dream of fantastically shod feet.



8 .) Style, Style, Style written by Andy Warhol

Lists It Appears On:

  • Goodreads
  • Thrift Books

Fashion lovers rejoice! These swank little books showcase Andy’ Warhol’s inimitable pictures and pronouncements on shoes and style — and make ideal gifts for serious shoppers everywhere.Shoes, Shoes, Shoes collects a closetful of high heels, loafers, mules, boots, and sandals, including iconic images from Warhol’s Pop heyday as well as rarely seen early advertising illustrations. Accompanied throughout by witty quotes — “I decided that being a shoe salesman is a really sexy job”, for example — these forty drawings, watercolors, and prints demonstrate Warhol’s special talent for transforming the ordinary into the extraordinary. Style, Style, Style offers a cavalcade of forty striking fashion images — slinky dresses, whimsical period costumes, sprightly scarves, ultrachic bijoux, and more, all drawn from Warhol’s archives. Sprinkled throughout with the artist’s droll quips and playful epigrams, this stylish minibook conjures up all the decadent pleasures of a shopping spree — at only a fraction of the cost.



7 .) The Velvet Years: Warhol’s Factory 1965–67 written by Stephen Shore and Lynne Tillman

Lists It Appears On:

  • Goodreads
  • Moderna Museet



6 .) The Warhol Look: Glamour, Style, Fashion written by Hilton Als

Lists It Appears On:

  • Goodreads
  • Moderna Museet

From his childhood in the 1930s, when he collected Hollywood fan magazines and signed publicity photographs of stars, Andy Warhol was obsessed with glamour, style, and fashion. After moving to New York in 1949, he soon made his mark in the world of advertising and commercial illustration. And when he redirected his efforts toward fine art in the 1960s, fashion and commercial imagery continued to pervade his work.Today’s merging of art and fashion is in large measure the legacy of Andy Warhol. This book, which accompanies a major exhibition opening at the Whitney Museum of American Art in New York, shows the decisive impact of his work on fashion and glamour and how that involvement and the “Warhol Style” have powerfully influenced contemporary art. Drawing on the peerless collection and archive of The Andy Warhol Museum in Pittsburgh, The Fashion Show takes us on a grand tour of Warhol’s passion for the swank and the chic: the publicity stills of Marilyn Monroe that he collected and ultimately transformed into his celebrated silkscreen portraits; his delightful fashion drawings of the 1950s; photographs of his department store window displays; the “Silver Factory” works of the 1960s that blurred the lines between the avant-garde and popular culture; his explorations of gender identity; and Interview magazine and the downtown club scene, epicenters of style and trendsetting. For anyone who loves fashion, glamour, and Andy Warhol, here is the art book of the year.



5 .) Warhol written by David Bourdon

Lists It Appears On:

  • Moderna Museet
  • Thrift Books

A study of the innovative pop artist Andy Warhol by his close friend and confidant, David Bourdon. Prepared during the artist’s lifetime and with his co-operation, it is described as an intimate look at the man behind the silkscreened image.



4 .) Wild Raspberries written by Andy Warhol

Lists It Appears On:

  • Goodreads
  • Thrift Books

In 1959, artist Andy Warhol got together with his friend Suzie Frankfurt to produce a limited-edition cookbook for New York’s beau monde. They called it Wild Raspberries (Ingmar Bergman’s film Wild Strawberries had just been released), and it’s hands-down the funniest, most fanciful cookbook ever produced. Nineteen vintage Warhol illustrations accompany the hilarious recipes – A&P Surprise, Gefilte of Fighting Fish, Seared Roebuck, and Baked Hawaii, among others – that were conceived by Frankfurt and hand-lettered by Mrs. Warhola, Andy’s mother. This beautiful facsimile edition brings the classic book back to life for a new generation. Wild Raspberries is pure delight – the perfect gift for food-lovers, sophisticates, and Warhol fans everywhere.



3 .) Andy Warhol: A Retrospective written by Andy Warhol

Lists It Appears On:

  • Goodreads
  • Moderna Museet
  • Thrift Books

This book is a summation of the career of an American artist whose work uniquely embodies the cultural shocks and ambiguities of our times. A master of media and an impresario of personality, Andy Warhol had by the time of his death in 1987 elevated himself to what Robert Rosenblum calls “the timeless and spaceless realm of a modern mythology that he himself both created and mirrored.” His name, like Picasso’s, is known throughout the world; his most famous creations, the familiar icons ofPpop art, are instantly recognized and relentlessly imitated. And yet, many of the works of this multifaceted and prolific artist have been shown and reproduced only sporadically. The exhibition at the Museum of Modern Art which this publication accompanies is the first full-scale, comprehensive Warhol retrospective. This volume, with more than six hundred illustrations, presents for the first time the full range of astonishing oeuvre.



2 .) The Andy Warhol Diaries written by Andy Warhol

Lists It Appears On:

  • Chapters
  • Goodreads
  • Quora
  • Thrift Books



1 .) The Philosophy of Andy Warhol (From A to B and Back Again) written by Andy Warhol

Lists It Appears On:

  • Chapters
  • Goodreads
  • Quora
  • Thrift Books

A loosely formed autobiography by Andy Warhol, told with his trademark blend of irony and detachment In The Philosophy of Andy Warhol—which, with the subtitle “(From A to B and Back Again),” is less a memoir than a collection of riffs and reflections—he talks about love, sex, food, beauty, fame, work, money, and success; about New York, America, and his childhood in McKeesport, Pennsylvania; about his good times and bad in New York, the explosion of his career in the sixties, and his life among celebrities.




The 100+ Additional Best Books For Fans Of Andy Warhol



# Books Authors Lists
24
25 Cats Named Sam and One Blue Pussy and Holy Cats by Andy Warhol’s Mother
Thrift Books
25 50 American Artists You Should Know Debra Mancoff Goodreads
26
About Face: Andy Warhol Portraits (Essays)
Thrift Books
27
After the Party: Andy Warhol Works, 1956-1986
Thrift Books
28 Andy Warhol | Ai Weiwei Chapters
29
Andy Warhol 365 Takes: The Andy Warhol Museum Collection
Thrift Books
30 Andy Warhol Abstracts Thrift Books
31
Andy Warhol Celebrities: More Than Fifteen Minutes
Thrift Books
32 Andy Warhol Fashion Thrift Books
33 Andy Warhol Happy Bug Day Thrift Books
34 Andy Warhol Men Thrift Books
35 Andy Warhol Nudes Thrift Books
36 Andy Warhol Polaroids 1971-1986 Thrift Books
37 Andy Warhol Pop Box: Fame, the Factory, and the Father of American Pop Art The Andy Warhol Museum Goodreads
38 Andy Warhol Portraits Chapters
39
Andy Warhol Prints: A Catalogue Raisonné 1962–1987
Moderna Museet
40 Andy Warhol So Many Stars Chapters
41
Andy Warhol-from A To B And Back Again
Chapters
42 Andy Warhol, Knives Thrift Books
43 Andy Warhol, Portraits of the 70s Thrift Books
44
Andy Warhol, Priest: The Last Supper Comes in Small, Medium, and Large
Thrift Books
45 Andy Warhol, Work and Play Thrift Books
46 Andy Warhol: 5 Deaths Thrift Books
47
Andy Warhol: A Picture Show by the Artist
Thrift Books
48
Andy Warhol: A Picture Show by the Artist, The Early Works 1942–1962
Moderna Museet
49 Andy Warhol: Art from Art Thrift Books
50 Andy Warhol: Blowjob (One Work) Thrift Books
51 Andy Warhol: Cars: Business Art Thrift Books
52
Andy Warhol: Diamond dust shadow paintings
Thrift Books
53
Andy Warhol: Drawings 1942–1987
Moderna Museet
54 Andy Warhol: Fashion Thrift Books
55 Andy Warhol: Film Factory Michael O’Pray Goodreads
56 Andy Warhol: Filmmaker
Moderna Museet
57
Andy Warhol: Films and Paintings : The Factory Years (A Da Capo paperback)
Thrift Books
58
Andy Warhol: Illustrations and Drawings of the 1950’s
Thrift Books
59
Andy Warhol: In His Own Words (In Their Own Words)
Thrift Books
60
Andy Warhol: Ladies & Gentleman, Sex Parts, Torsos, Polaroids
Thrift Books
61 Andy Warhol: Motion Pictures Thrift Books
62 Andy Warhol: Polaroids Chapters
63 Andy Warhol: Red Books Thrift Books
64
Andy Warhol: Screen Tests, The Films of Andy Warhol
Moderna Museet
65 Andy Warhol: Social Observer Thrift Books
66
Andy Warhol: The Complete Commissioned Magazine Work
Chapters
67
Andy Warhol: The Complete Commissioned Posters, 1964-1987
Chapters
68 Andy Warhol: The Last Supper Thrift Books
69 Andy Warhol: The Late Work Thrift Books
70
Andy Warhol: The Life of an Artist (Artist Biographies)
Thrift Books
71 Andy Warhol: The Mechanical Art Thrift Books
72 Andy Warhol: Time Capsule 21 Andy Warhol Goodreads
73
Andy Warhol: Unexposed Exposures
Thrift Books
74 Andy Warhol’s Dream America Thrift Books
75 ANDY WARHOL’S EXPOSURES Andy Warhol Goodreads
76
Andy Warhol’s Interview (7 Volume Set)
Thrift Books
77 Andy Warhol’s Time Capsule 21 Thrift Books
78
ANDY WARHOL/SUPERNOVA: Stars, Deaths, and Disasters, 1962-1964
Thrift Books
79 Campbell’s Soup Boxes Thrift Books
80 Collaborations Thrift Books
81 Edie Jean Stein Goodreads
82
Eggs by Andy Warhol: Paintings, polaroids and dessert drawings
Thrift Books
83 Enterprises Thrift Books
84 Factory Made: Warhol and the Sixties Steven Watson Goodreads
85 Fashion Andy Warhol Goodreads
86 Flowers, Flowers, Flowers Andy Warhol Goodreads
87
Flowers, Flowers, Flowers (Andy Warhol Series)
Thrift Books
88
From Stills to Motion & Back Again: Texts on Andy Warhol’s Screen Tests & Outer and Inner Space
Thrift Books
89 Giant Size Andy Warhol Goodreads
90
Holy Cats By Andy Warhol’s Mother
Thrift Books
91 Holy Terror: Andy Warhol Close Up Bob Colacello Goodreads
92 Illustrations and Drawings of the 1950’s Andy Warhol Goodreads
93 Journal Thrift Books
94 Man’s Best Friend Thrift Books
95 Men Andy Warhol Goodreads
96 Motion Pictures Andy Warhol Goodreads
97 New Art City: Manhattan at Mid-Century Jed Perl Goodreads
98 Our Kind of Movie: The Films of Andy Warhol Douglas Crimp Goodreads
99 Photography Andy Warhol Goodreads
100 Polaroids, 1971-1986 Andy Warhol Goodreads
101 Pop Out: Queer Andy
Moderna Museet
102 Pop: The Genius of Andy Warhol Tony Scherman Goodreads
103 Portraits Andy Warhol Goodreads
104 Pre-Pop Warhol Jesse Kornbluth Goodreads
105
Richard Bernstein Starmaker: Andy Warhol’s Cover Artist
Chapters
106 Speeding into the Future: The Amphetamine-Fueled Generation Catherine O’Sullivan Shorr Goodreads
107 Superstar Viva Goodreads
108 Superstar in a Housedress: The Life and Legend of Jackie Curtis Craig Highberger Goodreads
109 Swimming Underground: My Years in the Warhol Factory Mary Woronov Goodreads
110
The Andy Warhol Catalogue Raisonné: Paintings and Sculpture 1961–1963
Moderna Museet
111 The Autobiography and Sex Life of Andy Warhol John Wilcock Goodreads
112
The Autobiography of a Snake: Drawings by Andy Warhol
Thrift Books
113
The Cool School: Writing from America’s Hip Underground
Thrift Books
114
The Early Art and Business of Andy Warhol
Moderna Museet
115 The Life And Death Of Andy Warhol Victor Bockris Goodreads
116 The Religious Art of Andy Warhol Thrift Books
117 The Work of Andy Warhol Gary Garrels
Moderna Museet
118
Twenty-five Cats Named Sam and One Blue Pussy
Thrift Books
119 Valerie Solanas: The Defiant Life of the Woman Who Wrote SCUM Breanne Fahs Goodreads
120 Vanishing Animals Thrift Books
121
Warhol: Conversations about the Artist
Moderna Museet
122 Warhol: The Biography Victor Bockris
Moderna Museet
123 Welcome to the Silver Factory: The Birth of the Pop Art Era Catherine O’Sullivan Shorr Goodreads
124 Who is Andy Warhol? Colin McCabe with Mark Francis and Peter Wollen
Moderna Museet
125 Your Fifteen Minutes Are Up Catherine O’Sullivan Shorr Goodreads
126
Yum, Yum, Yum (Andy Warhol Series)
Thrift Books
127 Andy Warhol Wayne Koestenbaum Goodreads
128 Andy Warhol Christopher Makos Thrift Books


5 Best Books To Learn More About Andy Warhol Sources/Lists



Source Article
Chapters andy warhol in books
Goodreads Popular Andy Warhol Books
Moderna Museet The 20 most notable books on Andy Warhol
Quora What are some good books about Andy Warhol
Thrift Books Andy Warhol Books
A.M. Anderson:
Related Post