For Fans Of

The Best Books To Read For Fans Of Jurassic Park

“What are the best books for fans of Jurassic Park?” We looked at 126 of the top books, aggregating and ranking them so we could answer that very question!

The top 11 titles, all appearing on 2 or more “Best Books For Fans Of Jurassic Park” lists, are ranked below by how many times they appear. The remaining 100+ books, as well as the lists we used, are in alphabetical order at the bottom of the page.

Happy Scrolling!



Top 11 Books For Fans of Jurassic Park



11 .) Contact by Carl Sagan

Lists It Appears On:

  • Taste Dive
  • Goodreads 2

“In December, 1999, a multinational team journeys out to the stars, to the most awesome encounter in human history. Who — or what — is out there?
In Cosmos, Carl Sagan explained the universe. In Contact, he predicts its future — and our own.”

Purchase / Learn More



10 .) Dinosaur Summer by Greg Bear

Lists It Appears On:

  • Prehistoric Pulp
  • Kirkus

Fifty years after Professor Challenger’s discovery of the Lost World, America’s last dinosaur circus has gone bankrupt, leaving a dozen avisaurs, centrosaurs, ankylosaurs, and one large raptor abandoned. Now a daring expedition plans to do the impossible: return the Jurassic giants to the wild. Two filmmakers, a circus trainer, a journalist, and a young Peter Belzoni must find a way to take the dinosaurs across oceans, continents, rivers, jungles, up a mountain that has been isolated for seventy thousand years . . . Then, if they make it, all they will do is face the prehistoric wonders, dangers, and terrors of the Lost World.

Purchase / Learn More



9 .) Dinosaur Tales by Ray Bradbury

Lists It Appears On:

  • Tor
  • Bookriot

Dinosaur Tales is a Magnificent Collection of Famous Tales by RAY BRADBURY, One of America’s Best-Loved and Best-Selling Authors. In This Elegantly Designed and Illustrated Book, Bradbury Presents All of His Dinosaur Stories in One Volume!

Purchase / Learn More



8 .) Footprints of Thunder by James F. David

Lists It Appears On:

  • Goodreads
  • Kirkus

When the boundaries between past and present dissolve, flooding the earth with dinosaurs and turning cities into primeval forests, an increasingly unstable American president searches desperately for a solution to the imminent apocalypse.

Purchase / Learn More



7 .) Terminator 2: Judgment Day by Randall Frakes

Lists It Appears On:

  • Goodreads
  • Goodreads 2

A second Terminator returns to the past to murder John Connor–destined to lead the human Resistance against the machines–while he is still a boy, but meets a formidable enemy in Connor’s protector

Purchase / Learn More



6 .) The Andromeda Strain by Michael Crichton

Lists It Appears On:

  • Taste Dive
  • Off The Shelf

A military space probe, sent to collect extraterrestrial organisms from the upper atmosphere, is knocked out of orbit and falls to Earth. Twelve miles from the crash site, an inexplicable and deadly phenomenon terrorizes the residents of a sleepy desert town in Arizona, leaving only two survivors: an elderly addict and a newborn infant. The United States government is forced to mobilize Project Wildfire, a top-secret emergency response protocol. Four of the nation’s most elite biophysicists are summoned to a clandestine underground laboratory located five stories beneath the desert and fitted with an automated atomic self-destruction mechanism for cases of irremediable contamination. Under conditions of total news blackout and the utmost urgency, the scientists race to understand and contain the crisis. But the Andromeda Strain proves different from anything they’ve ever seen—and what they don’t know could not only hurt them, but lead to unprecedented worldwide catastrophe.

Purchase / Learn More



5 .) The Last Command (Star Wars: The Thrawn Trilogy, #3) by Timothy Zahn

Lists It Appears On:

  • Goodreads
  • Goodreads 2

This third and final instalment spans a galaxy in flames. The fragile New Republic reels from the attacks of Grand Admiral Thrawn, who has not only rallied the remaining Imperial forces, but has driven the rebels back with an abominable new technology – clone soldiers.

Purchase / Learn More



4 .) Tyrannosaur Canyon (Wyman Ford #1) by Douglas Preston

Lists It Appears On:

  • Goodreads
  • Goodreads 2

“A moon rock missing for thirty years…
Five buckets of blood-soaked sand found in a New Mexico canyon…
A scientist with ambition enough to kill…
A monk who will redeem the world…
A dark agency with a deadly mission…
The greatest scientific discovery of all time…
What fire bolt from the galactic dark shattered the Earth eons ago, and now hides in that remote cleft in the southwest U.S. known as Tyrannosaur Canyon?”

Purchase / Learn More



3 .) Dinosaur Planet by Anne McCaffrey

Lists It Appears On:

  • Tor
  • Bookriot
  • Kirkus

Kai and his beautiful co-leader Varian had a simple enough mission–to catalogue fauna and flora and search for new energy sources for the Federated Sentient Planets. But what they discovered was awesome. The creatures were larger, the resources were smaller, and the rescue ship had disappeared….

Purchase / Learn More



2 .) Raptor Red by Robert T. Bakker

Lists It Appears On:

  • Prehistoric Pulp
  • Goodreads
  • Goodreads 2
  • Bookriot

“A pair of fierce but beautiful eyes look out from the undergrowth of conifers. She is an intelligent killer…

So begins one of the most extraordinary novels you will ever read. The time is 120 million years ago, the place is the plains of prehistoric Utah, and the eyes belong to an unforgettable heroine. Her name is Raptor Red, and she is a female Raptor dinosaur.

Painting a rich and colorful picture of a lush prehistoric world, leading paleontologist Robert T. Bakker tells his story from within Raptor Red’s extraordinary mind, dramatizing his revolutionary theories in this exciting tale. From a tragic loss to the fierce struggle for survival to a daring migration to the Pacific Ocean to escape a deadly new predator, Raptor Red combines fact an fiction to capture for the first time the thoughts, emotions, and behaviors of the most magnificent, enigmatic creatures ever to walk the face of the earth.”

Purchase / Learn More



1 .) The Lost World by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

Lists It Appears On:

  • Taste Dive
  • Off The Shelf
  • Prehistoric Pulp
  • Tor
  • Bookriot

What if dinosaurs never really died out, and are still living in a remote corner of the world? This is a recurring scenario in books and films, but Arthur Conan Doyle got there first with his 1912 novel, The Lost World. The hot-tempered Professor Challenger has organized an expedition to the wild jungles of South America. Together with a fellow scientist, a hunter, and a journalist, he makes his way to a volcanic plateau where they encounter creatures left over from another age. Will they be able to survive in this terrifying ancient world? Exciting, imaginative, and humorous from start to finish, The Lost World is a treat for readers of all ages.

Purchase / Learn More




The 100+ Additional Best Books Similar To Jurassic Park



 

# Books Author Lists
(Titles Appear On 1 List Each)
12 300 Taste Dive
13 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea Jules Verne
Off The Shelf
14 2010: Odyssey Two (Space Odyssey, #2) Arthur C. Clarke
Goodreads 2
15 Airframe Taste Dive
16 Aliens: The Female War Steve Perry Goodreads
17 Ancestor Scott Sigler Kirkus
18 Back to the Future, Part 3 Craig Shaw Gardner Goodreads
19 Bag Of Bones Taste Dive
20 Black House Taste Dive
21 Bones of the Earth Michael Swanwick
Prehistoric Pulp
22 Carnosaur Harry Adam Knight
Prehistoric Pulp
23 Cell Taste Dive
24 Christine Taste Dive
25 Congo Taste Dive
26 Cryptozoic! Brian W. Aldiss Tor
27 Cujo Taste Dive
28 Dexter By Design Taste Dive
29 Different Seasons Taste Dive
30 Dinosaurs! Jack Dann and Gardner Dozois
Prehistoric Pulp
31 Dreamcatcher Taste Dive
32 Drug of Choice John Lange Goodreads
33 Eaters Of The Dead Taste Dive
34 End of an Era Robert J. Sawye
Prehistoric Pulp
35 Ender In Exile Taste Dive
36 Excavation James Rollins Goodreads
37 Fantastic Voyage II: Destination Brain Isaac Asimov Goodreads
38 Far-Seer (Quintaglio Ascension, #1) Robert J. Sawyer Goodreads
39 Firestarter Taste Dive
40 Flood Tide (Dirk Pitt, #14) Clive Cussler Goodreads
41 Four Past Midnight Taste Dive
42 Fragment Warren Fahy Kirkus
43 Frankenstein Mary Shelley
Off The Shelf
44 Gerald’s Game Taste Dive
45 Hannibal Taste Dive
46 Hannibal Rising Taste Dive
47 Hearts In Atlantis Taste Dive
48 Heir To The Empire Taste Dive
49 Hunger William R. Dantz Kirkus
50 I Am Legend Taste Dive
51 Ice Hunt James Rollins
Goodreads 2
52 If There Be Thorns Taste Dive
53 Insomnia Taste Dive
54 Iron Fist (Star Wars: X-Wing, #6) Aaron Allston
Goodreads 2
55 It Taste Dive
56 Jaws Peter Benchley
Goodreads 2
57 Jurassic Park III Scott Ciencin Goodreads
58 Justice League Taste Dive
59 Moreta: Dragonlady of Pern (Pern, #7) Anne McCaffrey
Goodreads 2
60 Needful Things Taste Dive
61 Next Taste Dive
62 Night Shift Taste Dive
63 On The Beach Taste Dive
64
On Writing: A Memoir Of The Craft
Taste Dive
65 Piercing The Darkness Taste Dive
66 Planet of the Apes Pierre Boulle
Off The Shelf
67 Prey Taste Dive
68 Primal Waters (MEG #3) Steve Alten Goodreads
69 Quintaglio Ascension Trilogy Robert J. Sawyer Tor
70 Rainbow Six (Jack Ryan Universe, #10) Tom Clancy Goodreads
71 Red Dragon Taste Dive
72 Red Storm Rising Taste Dive
73 Rivers of Time L. Sprague de Camp
Prehistric Pulp
74 Seeds Of Yesterday Taste Dive
75 Skeleton Crew Taste Dive
76 Sphere Taste Dive
77 Spider-Man Taste Dive
78 Star Trek: The Next Generation Technical Manual Rick Sternbach Goodreads
79 Star Wars Taste Dive
80 State Of Fear Taste Dive
81 The Amazing Spider-Man Taste Dive
82 The Children Of Men Taste Dive
83
The Claiming Of Sleeping Beauty
Taste Dive
84 The Dark Half Taste Dive
85
The Dark Tower VI: Song Of Susannah
Taste Dive
86
The Dark Tower VII: The Dark Tower
Taste Dive
87 The Dead Zone Taste Dive
88 The Dinosaur Lords Victor Milán Tor
89 The End Of Faith Taste Dive
90 The Exorcist Taste Dive
91 The Fall of Hyperion (Hyperion Cantos, #2) Dan Simmons
Goodreads 2
92 The Forever War Taste Dive
93 The Games Ted Kosmatka Kirkus
94
The Girl Who Loved Tom Gordon
Taste Dive
95 The Great Train Robbery Taste Dive
96 The Green Mile Taste Dive
97 The Hunt for Red October (Jack Ryan Universe, #4) Tom Clancy
Goodreads 2
98 The Hutt Gambit (Star Wars: The Han Solo Trilogy, #2) A.C. Crispin
Goodreads 2
99 The Krytos Trap (Star Wars: X-Wing, #3) Michael A. Stackpole
Goodreads 2
100 The Mist Taste Dive
101 The Night at the Museum Milan Trenc Goodreads
102 The Oath Taste Dive
103 The Omnivore’s Dilemma Taste Dive
104 The Problem Of Pain Taste Dive
105 The Ransom of Black Stealth One (Aerospace Systems, #1) Dean Ing Goodreads
106 The Silence of the Lambs (Hannibal Lecter, #2) Thomas Harris
Goodreads 2
107 The Star Wars Trilogy George Lucas Goodreads
108 The Strain Taste Dive
109 The Sum Of All Fears Taste Dive
110 The Survivors of the Chancellor (Extraordinary Voyages, #13) Jules Verne
Goodreads 2
111 The Talisman Taste Dive
112 The Thief Of Always Taste Dive
113 The Tommyknockers Taste Dive
114 The Trench (MEG, #2) Steve Alten
Goodreads 2
115 The Trikon Deception Ben Bova Goodreads
116 The Troop Nick Cutter
Off The Shelf
117 Thinner Taste Dive
118 This Present Darkness Taste Dive
119 Thor Taste Dive
120 Thunder Series James F. David Tor
121 Timeline Taste Dive
122 Under the Dome Stephen King
Off The Shelf
123 Utopia Lincoln Child
Goodreads 2
124 West of Eden Harry Harrison
Prehistric Pulp
125 Wolf-Speaker Taste Dive
126 Zoo James Patterson and Michael Ledwidge
Off The Shelf


8 Best Books Like The Jurassic Park Book and Movie Sources/Lists



Source Article
Bookriot RAWR: 5 AWESOME BOOKS FEATURING DINOSAURS
Goodreads Books like The Lost World
Goodreads 2 Books like Jurassic Park
Kirkus A Jurassic World–Inspired Reading List
Off The Shelf 9 Novels to Cure Your Post-Jurassic World Entertainment Slump
Prehistoric Pulp Ten books to read after Jurassic World (and five to avoid)
Taste Dive IF YOU LIKE
Tor 6 Crazy SF Books Featuring Dinos that are Somehow NOTJurassic Park

 

A.M. Anderson

Share
Published by
A.M. Anderson

Recent Posts

The Best Books of 2023 – Science Fiction And Fantasy (A Year-End List Aggregation)

"What are the best Science Fiction And Fantasy books released in 2023?" We looked at…

2 months ago

The Best Books of 2023 – Graphic Novels And Comics (A Year-End List Aggregation)

"What are the best Graphic Novels And Comics books released in 2023?" We looked at…

2 months ago

The Best Books of 2023 – Science And Nature (A Year-End List Aggregation)

"What are the best Science And Nature books released in 2023?" We looked at 278…

2 months ago

The Best Books of 2023 – Mystery, Horror, and Thriller (A Year-End List Aggregation)

"What are the best Mystery, Horror, and Thriller books released in 2023?" We looked at…

2 months ago

The Best Books of 2023 – Nonfiction (A Year-End List Aggregation)

"What are the best Nonfiction books released in 2023?" We looked at 428 of the…

2 months ago

The Best Books of 2023 – Fiction & Literature (A Year-End List Aggregation)

"What are the best Fiction & Literature books released in 2023?" We looked at 448…

2 months ago