Best Books, Fiction, For Fans Of, Literature, Science Fiction, Similar to

The Best Books To Read For Fans Of Black Mirror

May 1, 2017

“What are the best books to read for fans of Black Mirror?” We looked at 72 of the top books, aggregating and ranking them so we could answer that very question!

Watching an episode of Black Mirror can leave you pretty emotionally drained as you sit thinking about whatever type of bleak plausible future Charlie Brooker just depicted on screen. Like any great entertainment, that can still make you want to continue with similar adventures, no matter how uncomfortable (cough White Bear cough Shut Up and Dance cough) those adventures may be. We looked at 72 titles from 11 Best Black Mirror articles and ranked the top books below by how many times they appeared. The top 17 books, all appearing on 2 or more lists are ranked with images, descriptions, and links to learn more or buy. The remaining titles, as well as the articles we used, are alphabetically listed at the bottom of the page.

Happy Scrolling!

 



Top 17 Books Similar To Black Mirror



17 .) Brave New World by Aldous Huxley

Lists It Appears On:

  • Reddit
  • Quora

Aldous Huxley’s profoundly important classic of world literature, Brave New World is a searching vision of an unequal, technologically-advanced future where humans are genetically bred, socially indoctrinated, and pharmaceutically anesthetized to passively uphold an authoritarian ruling order–all at the cost of our freedom, full humanity, and perhaps also our souls. “A genius [who] who spent his life decrying the onward march of the Machine” (The New Yorker), Huxley was a man of incomparable talents: equally an artist, a spiritual seeker, and one of history’s keenest observers of human nature and civilization. Brave New World, his masterpiece, has enthralled and terrified millions of readers, and retains its urgent relevance to this day as both a warning to be heeded as we head into tomorrow and as thought-provoking, satisfying work of literature. Written in the shadow of the rise of fascism during the 1930s, Brave New World likewise speaks to a 21st-century world dominated by mass-entertainment, technology, medicine and pharmaceuticals, the arts of persuasion, and the hidden influence of elites.

Learn More / Purchase Book



16 .) More Than This by Patrick Ness

Lists It Appears On:

  • Bookstr
  • Bustle

Seth drowns, desperate and alone. But then he wakes. Naked, thirsty, starving. But alive. And where is he? The street seems familiar, but everything is abandoned, overgrown, covered in dust. He remembers dying, his skull bashed against the rocks. Has he woken up in his own personal hell? Is there more to this life, or perhaps this afterlife? From the acclaimed author of the Chaos Walking trilogy and A Monster Calls comes one of the most provocative teen novels of our time.

Learn More / Purchase Book



15 .) Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

Lists It Appears On:

  • Bustle
  • Quora

“In the year 2044, reality is an ugly place. The only time teenage Wade Watts really feels alive is when he’s jacked into the virtual utopia known as the OASIS. Wade’s devoted his life to studying the puzzles hidden within this world’s digital confines—puzzles that are based on their creator’s obsession with the pop culture of decades past and that promise massive power and fortune to whoever can unlock them.
But when Wade stumbles upon the first clue, he finds himself beset by players willing to kill to take this ultimate prize. The race is on, and if Wade’s going to survive, he’ll have to win—and confront the real world he’s always been so desperate to escape.”

Learn More / Purchase Book



14 .) Stories of Your Life and Others by Ted Chiang

Lists It Appears On:

  • GQ
  • Ask Metafilter

Stories of Your Life and Others delivers dual delights of the very, very strange and the heartbreakingly familiar, often presenting characters who must confront sudden change—the inevitable rise of automatons or the appearance of aliens—with some sense of normalcy. With sharp intelligence and humor, Chiang examines what it means to be alive in a world marked by uncertainty, but also by beauty and wonder. An award-winning collection from one of today’s most lauded writers, Stories of Your Life and Others is a contemporary classic.

Learn More / Purchase Book



13 .) The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams

Lists It Appears On:

  • Quora
  • Vulture

Seconds before the Earth is demolished for a galactic freeway, Arthur Dent is saved by Ford Prefect, a researcher for the revised Guide. Together they stick out their thumbs to the stars and begin a wild journey through time and space.

Learn More / Purchase Book



12 .) The Status of All Things by Liz Fenton & Lisa Steinke

Lists It Appears On:

  • Bookstr
  • Bustle

“What would you do if you could literally rewrite your fate—on Facebook? This heartwarming and hilarious new novel from the authors of Your Perfect Life follows a woman who discovers she can change her life through online status updates.

Kate is a thirty-five-year-old woman who is obsessed with social media. So when her fiancé, Max, breaks things off at their rehearsal dinner—to be with Kate’s close friend and coworker, no less—she goes straight to Facebook to share it with the world. But something’s changed. Suddenly, Kate’s real life starts to mirror whatever she writes in her Facebook status. With all the power at her fingertips, and heartbroken and confused over why Max left her, Kate goes back in time to rewrite their history.

Kate’s two best friends, Jules and Liam, are the only ones who know the truth. In order to convince them she’s really time traveled, Kate offers to use her Facebook status to help improve their lives. But her attempts to help them don’t go exactly as planned, and every effort to get Max back seems to only backfire, causing Kate to wonder if it’s really possible to change her fate.”

Learn More / Purchase Book



11 .) The Wilds by Julia Elliott

Lists It Appears On:

  • Bustle
  • GQ

At an obscure South Carolina nursing home, a lost world reemerges as a disabled elderly woman undergoes newfangled brain-restoration procedures and begins to explore her environment with the assistance of strap-on robot legs. At a deluxe medical spa on a nameless Caribbean island, a middle-aged woman hopes to revitalize her fading youth with grotesque rejuvenating therapies that combine cutting-edge medical technologies with holistic approaches and the pseudo-religious dogma of Zen-infused self-help. And in a rinky-dink mill town, an adolescent girl is unexpectedly inspired by the ravings and miraculous levitation of her fundamentalist friend’s weird grandmother. These are only a few of the scenarios readers encounter in Julia Elliott’s debut collection The Wilds. In her genre-bending stories, Elliott blends Southern gothic strangeness with dystopian absurdities, sci-fi speculations with fairy-tale transformations. Teetering between the ridiculous and the sublime, Elliott’s language-driven fiction uses outlandish tropes to capture poignant moments in her humble characters’ lives. Without abandoning the tenets of classic storytelling, Elliott revels in lush lyricism, dark humor, and experimental play.

Learn More / Purchase Book



10 .) Ubik by Philip K. Dick

Lists It Appears On:

  • Ask Metafilter
  • Reddit

Glen Runciter runs a lucrative business—deploying his teams of anti-psychics to corporate clients who want privacy and security from psychic spies. But when he and his top team are ambushed by a rival, he is gravely injured and placed in “half-life,” a dreamlike state of suspended animation. Soon, though, the surviving members of the team begin experiencing some strange phenomena, such as Runciter’s face appearing on coins and the world seeming to move backward in time. As consumables deteriorate and technology gets ever more primitive, the group needs to find out what is causing the shifts and what a mysterious product called Ubik has to do with it all.

Learn More / Purchase Book



9 .) VALIS by Philip K. Dick

Lists It Appears On:

  • Ask Metafilter
  • Reddit

What is VALIS? This question is at the heart of Philip K. Dick’s ground-breaking novel, and the first book in his defining trilogy. When a beam of pink light begins giving a schizophrenic man named Horselover Fat (who just might also be known as Philip K. Dick) visions of an alternate Earth where the Roman Empire still reigns, he must decide whether he is crazy, or whether a godlike entity is showing him the true nature of the world.

Learn More / Purchase Book



8 .) A Scanner Darkly by Philip K. Dick

Lists It Appears On:

  • GQ
  • Ask Metafilter
  • Reddit

Bob Arctor is a junkie and a drug dealer, both using and selling the mind-altering Substance D. Fred is a law enforcement agent, tasked with bringing Bob down. It sounds like a standard case. The only problem is that Bob and Fred are the same person. Substance D doesn’t just alter the mind, it splits it in two, and neither side knows what the other is doing or that it even exists. Now, both sides are growing increasingly paranoid as Bob tries to evade Fred while Fred tries to evade his suspicious bosses.

Learn More / Purchase Book



7 .) Children of the New World by Alexander Weinstein

Lists It Appears On:

  • River City Reading
  • Ask Metafilter
  • Mashable

“Children of the New World introduces readers to a near-future world of social media implants, memory manufacturers, dangerously immersive virtual reality games, and alarmingly intuitive robots. Many of these characters live in a utopian future of instant connection and technological gratification that belies an unbridgeable human distance, while others inhabit a post-collapse landscape made primitive by disaster, which they must work to rebuild as we once did millennia ago.

In “The Cartographers,” the main character works for a company that creates and sells virtual memories, while struggling to maintain a real-world relationship sabotaged by an addiction to his own creations. In “Saying Goodbye to Yang,” the robotic brother of an adopted Chinese child malfunctions, and only in his absence does the family realize how real a son he has become.”

Learn More / Purchase Book



6 .) Do Androids Dream Of Electric Sheep? by Philip K. Dick

Lists It Appears On:

  • Bustle
  • Ask Metafilter
  • Reddit

By 2021, the World War has killed millions, driving entire species into extinction and sending mankind off-planet. Those who remain covet any living creature, and for people who can’t afford one, companies built incredibly realistic simulacra: horses, birds, cats, sheep. They’ve even built humans. Immigrants to Mars receive androids so sophisticated they are indistinguishable from true men or women. Fearful of the havoc these artificial humans can wreak, the government bans them from Earth. Driven into hiding, unauthorized androids live among human beings, undetected. Rick Deckard, an officially sanctioned bounty hunter, is commissioned to find rogue androids and “retire” them. But when cornered, androids fight back—with lethal force.

Learn More / Purchase Book



5 .) Oryx and Crake by Margaret Atwood

Lists It Appears On:

  • Bookstr
  • Bustle
  • GQ

Oryx and Crake is at once an unforgettable love story and a compelling vision of the future. Snowman, known as Jimmy before mankind was overwhelmed by a plague, is struggling to survive in a world where he may be the last human, and mourning the loss of his best friend, Crake, and the beautiful and elusive Oryx whom they both loved. In search of answers, Snowman embarks on a journey–with the help of the green-eyed Children of Crake–through the lush wilderness that was so recently a great city, until powerful corporations took mankind on an uncontrolled genetic engineering ride. Margaret Atwood projects us into a near future that is both all too familiar and beyond our imagining.

Learn More / Purchase Book



4 .) Version Control by Dexter Palmer

Lists It Appears On:

  • Bookstr
  • Bustle
  • GQ

Although Rebecca Wright has pieced her life back together after a major tragedy, she can’t shake a sense that the world around her feels off-kilter. Meanwhile, her husband’s dedication to his invention, “the causality violation device” (which he would greatly prefer you not call a time machine) has effectively stalled his career—but he may be closer to success than either of them can possibly imagine. Emotionally powerful and wickedly intelligent, Version Control is a stunningly prescient novel about the effects of science and technology on our lives, our friendships, and our sense of self that will alter the way you see the future—and the present.

Learn More / Purchase Book



3 .) The Man in the High Castle by Philip K. Dick

Lists It Appears On:

  • Tor Books
  • Ask Metafilter
  • Reddit

“t’s America in 1962. Slavery is legal once again. The few Jews who still survive hide under assumed names. In San Francisco, the I Ching is as common as the Yellow Pages. All because some twenty years earlier the United States lost a war—and is now occupied by Nazi Germany and Japan.

This harrowing, Hugo Award–winning novel is the work that established Philip K. Dick as an innovator in science fiction while breaking the barrier between science fiction and the serious novel of ideas. In it Dick offers a haunting vision of history as a nightmare from which it may just be possible to wake.”

Learn More / Purchase Book



2 .) The Circle by Dave Eggers

Lists It Appears On:

  • Bookstr
  • Bustle
  • Reddit
  • Quora

When Mae Holland is hired to work for the Circle, the world’s most powerful internet company, she feels she’s been given the opportunity of a lifetime. The Circle, run out of a sprawling California campus, links users’ personal emails, social media, banking, and purchasing with their universal operating system, resulting in one online identity and a new age of civility and transparency. As Mae tours the open-plan office spaces, the towering glass dining facilities, the cozy dorms for those who spend nights at work, she is thrilled with the company’s modernity and activity. There are parties that last through the night, there are famous musicians playing on the lawn, there are athletic activities and clubs and brunches, and even an aquarium of rare fish retrieved from the Marianas Trench by the CEO. Mae can’t believe her luck, her great fortune to work for the most influential company in the world—even as life beyond the campus grows distant, even as a strange encounter with a colleague leaves her shaken, even as her role at the Circle becomes increasingly public. What begins as the captivating story of one woman’s ambition and idealism soon becomes a heart-racing novel of suspense, raising questions about memory, history, privacy, democracy, and the limits of human knowledge.

Learn More / Purchase Book



1 .) Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro

Lists It Appears On:

  • Bookstr
  • Bustle
  • Huffington Post
  • GQ
  • Quora

“From the Booker Prize-winning author of The Remains of the Day comes a devastating new novel of innocence, knowledge, and loss. As children Kathy, Ruth, and Tommy were students at Hailsham, an exclusive boarding school secluded in the English countryside. It was a place of mercurial cliques and mysterious rules where teachers were constantly reminding their charges of how special they were.

Now, years later, Kathy is a young woman. Ruth and Tommy have reentered her life. And for the first time she is beginning to look back at their shared past and understand just what it is that makes them special–and how that gift will shape the rest of their time together. “

Learn More / Purchase Book




The Additional Best Books For Fans Of Black Mirror



 

# Book Author List
Books Appear On 1 List Each)
18 1984 George Orwell Quora
19 A Collapse of Horses Brian Evenson GQ
20 Blue Ant trilogy William Gibson Ask Metafilter
21 Bored of the Rings Quora
22 Bridge trilogy William Gibson Ask Metafilter
23 Catch-22 Joseph Heller Vulture
24 CivilWarLand in Bad Decline George Saunders Vulture
25 Cutter and Bone Newton Thornburg Vulture
26 Embassytown China Miéville Tor Books
27 Erasure A.T.H. Webber Bustle
28 Existence David Brin Ask Metafilter
29 Fahrenheit 451 Reddit
30 Feed M.T. Anderson Reddit
31 Gone Girl Reddit
32 Grand Canyon Vita Sackville West Tor Books
33 Gridlock Ben Elton Quora
34 Hard-boiled Wonderland and the End of the World Haruki Murakami GQ
35 I Can Make You Hate Reddit
36 Idiopathy Sam Byers Reddit
37 In Persuasion Nation George Saunders GQ
38 Infinite Jest David Foster Wallace Quora
39 Influx Daniel Suarez Reddit
40 Infomocracy Malka Older GQ
41 Kiss Me First Lottie Moggach Tor Books
42 Last Week’s Apocalypse Douglas Lain Ask Metafilter
43 Leviathan Wakes James S. A. Corey Ask Metafilter
44 Machine Man Max Barry Quora
45 Make Room! Make Room! Harry Harrison Quora
46 Maneki Neko Bruce Sterling Ask Metafilter
47 Melancholy Elephants Spider Robinso Ask Metafilter
48 METATropolis Ask Metafilter
49 Misspent Youth Peter F Hamilton Tor Books
50 Moxyland Lauren Beukes GQ
51 Need Joelle Charbonneau Bustle
52 Neuromancer William Gibson Bustle
53 On Killing David Grossman Vulture
54 player piano Kurt Vonnegut Ask Metafilter
55 Reviver Seth Patrick Tor Books
56 Smarter Than You Think Clive Thompson River City Reading
57 Snow Crash Neal Stephenson Bustle
58 Sombrero Fallout Richard Brautigan Vulture
59 Stone Mattress Margaret Atwood River City Reading
60 Super Sad True Love Story Reddit
61 Super-Cannes J. G. Ballard Ask Metafilter
62 Tenth of December George Saunders River City Reading
63 The Complete Short Stories of J.G. Ballard J. G. Ballard Ask Metafilter
64 The Day Of The Triffids John Wyndham Ask Metafilter
65 The Lathe of Heaven Ursula K. Le Guin GQ
66 The Light of Other Days Arthur C. Clarke and Stephen Baxter Ask Metafilter
67 The Long Walk Stephen King Reddit
68 The Mandibles: A Family, 2029-2047 Lionel Shriver Ask Metafilter
69 The Running Man Stephen King Reddit
70 The Trial Franz Kafka Reddit
71 The Truth of Fact, The Truth of Feeling Ted Chiang Reddit
72 Windeye Brian Evenson Ask Metafilter


11 Best Black Mirror Book Sources/Lists



Source Article
Ask Metafilter Reading material suggestions based on Black Mirror
Bookstr 6 Books Like ‘Black Mirror’
Bustle 13 Books Like ‘Black Mirror’ For Fans Who’ve Already Watched Every Episode
GQ 12 Books to Read After Binge-Watching Black Mirror
Huffington Post All The Books You Should Read, According To Your Binge TV Preferences
Mashable The book you should read while waiting for ‘Black Mirror’
Quora What is a recommendation for a good book for people who like Black Mirror?
Reddit Books similar to Black Mirror?
River City Reading BOOKS TO HELP YOU CELEBRATE THE RETURN OF BLACK MIRROR
Tor Books BLACK MIRROR COMPETITION: WIN BOOKS THAT MAKE YOU THINK
Vulture 105 Cultural Artifacts That Influenced Black Mirror Creator Charlie Brooker

 

You Might Also Like