Best Books, Countries of the World, Fiction, For Fans Of, Literature, Similar to, United Kingdom

The Best Books To Read For Fans Of Sherlock Holmes

January 8, 2018
Best Books To Read For Fans Of Sherlock Holmes

“What are the best books for fans of Sherlock Holmes?” We looked at 180 of the top books similar to Sherlock Holmes, aggregating and ranking them so we could answer that very question!

The top 18 books, all appearing on 2 or more “Best Books For Fans Of Sherlock Holmes” lists are ranked by how many times they appear. The remaining 150+ titles, as well as the lists we used, are in alphabetical order at the bottom of the page.

Happy Scrolling!



Top 18 Books For Fans Of Sherlock Holmes



18 .) Arthur and George by Julian Barnes

Lists It Appears On:

  • The Lineup
  • Scoop Whoop

As boys, George, the son of a Midlands vicar, and Arthur, living in shabby genteel Edinburgh, find themselves in a vast and complex world at the heart of the British Empire. Years later—one struggling with his identity in a world hostile to his ancestry, the other creating the world’s most famous detective while in love with a woman who is not his wife–their fates become inextricably connected.

Learn More / Purchase Book



17 .) Death Cloud by Andrew Lane

Lists It Appears On:

  • Norma Hinkens
  • Book Riot

It is the summer of 1868, and Sherlock Holmes is fourteen. On break from boarding school, he is staying with eccentric strangers―his uncle and aunt―in their vast house in Hampshire. When two local people die from symptoms that resemble the plague, Holmes begins to investigate what really killed them, helped by his new tutor, an American named Amyus Crowe. So begins Sherlock’s true education in detection, as he discovers the dastardly crimes of a brilliantly sinister villain of exquisitely malign intent.

Learn More / Purchase Book



16 .) Hercule Poirot Series by Agatha Christie

Lists It Appears On:

  • About Great Books
  • Scoop Whoop

Agatha Christie, the acknowledged mistress of suspense—creator of indomitable sleuth Miss Marple, meticulous Belgian detective Hercule Poirot, and so many other unforgettable characters—brings her entire oeuvre of ingenious whodunits, locked room mysteries, and perplexing puzzles to Harper Paperbacks. In Hercule Poirot’s Christmas, the holidays are anything but merry when a family reunion is marred by murder—and the notoriously fastidious investigator is quickly on the case.

Learn More / Purchase Book



15 .) Lock & Mori by Heather W. Petty

Lists It Appears On:

  • Norma Hinkens
  • Book Riot

“In modern-day London, two brilliant high school students—one Sherlock Holmes and a Miss James “Mori” Moriarty—meet. A murder will bring them together. The truth very well might drive them apart.

Before they were mortal enemies, they were much more…”

Learn More / Purchase Book



14 .) Miss Marple by Agatha Christie

Lists It Appears On:

  • About Great Books
  • Scoop Whoop

This collection gathers together every short story featuring one of Agatha Christie’s most famous creations: Miss Marple. Described by her friend Dolly Bantry as “the typical old maid of fiction,” Miss Marple has lived almost her entire life in the sleepy hamlet of St. Mary Mead. Yet, by observing village life she has gained an unparalleled insight into human nature—and used it to devastating effect. As her friend Sir Henry Clithering, the ex- Commissioner of Scotland Yard, has been heard to say: “She’s just the finest detective God ever made”—and many Agatha Christie fans would agree.

Learn More / Purchase Book



13 .) Nero Wolfe Series by Rex Stout

Lists It Appears On:

  • About Great Books
  • Scoop Whoop

Trying to determine why his last two clients were ruthlessly murdered, Nero Wolfe wonders if the answer is linked to a young boy who turns up at his brownstone apartment and finds clues in a gray Cadillac, a mysterious woman, and spider-shaped earrings.

Learn More / Purchase Book



12 .) Perry Mason by Erle Stanley Gardner

Lists It Appears On:

  • About Great Books
  • Scoop Whoop

“Criminal lawyer and bestselling mystery author Erle Stanley Gardner wrote nearly 150 novels that have sold 300 million copies worldwide. Now, the American Bar Association is bringing back his most famous and enduring novels—featuring criminal defense lawyer and sleuth Perry Mason—in striking trade paperback editions.

Married Eva Griffin has been caught with a prominent congressman, and is ready to pay the editor of a sleazy tabloid hush money to protect the politician. But first Perry Mason tracks down the publisher of the blackmailing tabloid and discovers a shocking secret, which eventually leads to Mason being accused of murder.

This is the first Perry Mason mystery and our introduction to secretary Della Street, detective Paul Drake, and the great lawyer himself.”

Learn More / Purchase Book



11 .) The Final Solution by Michael Chabon

Lists It Appears On:

  • The Lineup
  • The Seattle Public Library

“Retired to the English countryside, an eighty-nine-year-old man, rumored to be a once-famous detective, is more concerned with his beekeeping than with his fellow man. Into his life wanders Linus Steinman, nine years old and mute, who has escaped from Nazi Germany with his sole companion: an African gray parrot.

What is the meaning of the mysterious strings of German numbers the bird spews out — a top-secret SS code? The keys to a series of Swiss bank accounts? Or do they hold a significance both more prosaic and far more sinister?

Though the solution may be beyond even the reach of the once-famous sleuth, the true story of the boy and his parrot is subtly revealed in a wrenching resolution.”

Learn More / Purchase Book



10 .) The Italian Secretary: A Further Adventure of Sherlock Holmes by Caleb Carr

Lists It Appears On:

  • The Seattle Public Library
  • Library Point

Sherlock Holmes and Dr. Watson are summoned to the aid of Queen Victoria in Scotland by a telegram from Holmes’ brother, Mycroft, a royal advisor. Rushed northward on a royal train—and nearly murdered themselves en route—the pair are soon joined by Mycroft, and learn of the brutal killings of two of the Queen’s servants, a renowned architect and his foreman, both of whom had been working on the renovation of the famous and forbidding Royal Palace of Holyrood, in Edinburgh. Mycroft has enlisted his brother to help solve the murders that may be key elements of a much more elaborate and pernicious plot on the Queen’s life. But the circumstances of the two victims’ deaths also call to Holmes’ mind the terrible murder—in Holyrood—of “The Italian Secretary,” David Rizzio. Only Rizzio, a music teacher and confidante of Mary, Queen of Scots, was murdered three centuries ago. Holmes proceeds to alarm Watson with the announcement that the Italian Secretary’s vengeful spirit may have taken the lives of the two men as punishment for disturbing the scene of his assassination. Critically acclaimed, bestselling author Caleb Carr’s brilliant new offering takes the Conan Doyle tradition to remarkable new heights with this spellbinding tale.

Learn More / Purchase Book



9 .) The Lew Archer Series by Ross MacDonald

Lists It Appears On:

  • Scoop Whoop
  • About Great Books

“No matter what cases private eye Lew Archer takes on—a burglary, a runaway, or a disappeared person—the trail always leads to tangled family secrets and murder. Widely considered the heir to Sam Spade and Philip Marlowe, Archer dug up secrets and bodies in and around Los Angeles.

Here, The Archer Files collects all the Lew Archer short stories ever published, along with thirteen unpublished “case notes” and a fascinating biographical profile of Archer by Edgar Award finalist Tom Nolan. Ross Macdonald’s signature staccato prose is the real star throughout this collection, which is both a perfect introduction for the newcomer and a must-have for the Macdonald aficionado.”

Learn More / Purchase Book



8 .) The Sherlockian by Graham Moore

Lists It Appears On:

  • The Book Insider
  • Bustle

“In December 1893, Sherlock Holmes-adoring Londoners eagerly opened their Strand magazines, anticipating the detective’s next adventure, only to find the unthinkable: his creator, Arthur Conan Doyle, had killed their hero off. London spiraled into mourning — crowds sported black armbands in grief — and railed against Conan Doyle as his assassin.

Then in 1901, just as abruptly as Conan Doyle had “”murdered”” Holmes in “”The Final Problem,”” he resurrected him. Though the writer kept detailed diaries of his days and work, Conan Doyle never explained this sudden change of heart. After his death, one of his journals from the interim period was discovered to be missing, and in the decades since, has never been found.

Or has it?”

Learn More / Purchase Book



7 .) The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie by Alan Bradley

Lists It Appears On:

  • Bustle
  • Teen Librarian Toolbox

“It is the summer of 1950–and at the once-grand mansion of Buckshaw, young Flavia de Luce, an aspiring chemist with a passion for poison, is intrigued by a series of inexplicable events: A dead bird is found on the doorstep, a postage stamp bizarrely pinned to its beak. Then, hours later, Flavia finds a man lying in the cucumber patch and watches him as he takes his dying breath.

For Flavia, who is both appalled and delighted, life begins in earnest when murder comes to Buckshaw. “I wish I could say I was afraid, but I wasn’t. Quite the contrary. This was by far the most interesting thing that had ever happened to me in my entire life.””

Learn More / Purchase Book



6 .) Dust and Shadow by Lyndsay Faye

Lists It Appears On:

  • The Lineup
  • The Seattle Public Library
  • About Great Books

“As England’s greatest specialist in criminal detection, Sherlock Holmes is unwavering in his quest to capture the killer responsible for terrifying London’s East End. He hires an “unfortunate” known as Mary Ann Monk, the friend of a fellow streetwalker who was one of the Ripper’s earliest victims; and he relies heavily on the steadfast and devoted Dr. John H. Watson. When Holmes himself is wounded in Whitechapel during an attempt to catch the savage monster, the popular press launches an investigation of its own, questioning the great detective’s role in the very crimes he is so fervently struggling to prevent. Stripped of his credibility, Holmes is left with no choice but to break every rule in the desperate race to find the madman known as “the Knife” before it is too late.

A masterly re-creation of history’s most diabolical villain, Lyndsay Faye’s debut brings unparalleled authenticity to the atmosphere of Whitechapel and London in the fledgling days of tabloid journalism and recalls the ideals evinced by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle’s most beloved and world-renowned characters. Jack the Ripper’s identity, still hotly debated around the world more than a century after his crimes were committed, remains a mystery ripe for speculation. Dust and Shadow explores the terrifying prospect of tracking a serial killer without the advantage of modern forensics, and the result is a lightning-paced novel brimming with historical detail that will keep you on the edge of your seat.”

Learn More / Purchase Book



5 .) Jackaby by William Ritter

Lists It Appears On:

  • Norma Hinkens
  • Forward Reviews
  • Book Riot

Newly arrived in New Fiddleham, New England, 1892, and in need of a job, Abigail Rook meets R. F. Jackaby, an investigator of the unexplained with a keen eye for the extraordinary–including the ability to see supernatural beings. Abigail has a gift for noticing ordinary but important details, which makes her perfect for the position of Jackaby’s assistant. On her first day, Abigail finds herself in the midst of a thrilling case: A serial killer is on the loose. The police are convinced it’s an ordinary villain, but Jackaby is certain the foul deeds are the work of the kind of creature whose very existence the local authorities–with the exception of a handsome young detective named Charlie Cane–seem adamant to deny.

Learn More / Purchase Book



4 .) The Moonstone by Wilkie Collins

Lists It Appears On:

  • Huffington Post
  • The Lineup
  • Scoop Whoop

“The Moonstone was immensely successful when it was first serialized in the Charles Dickens magazine All the Year Round in 1868. Many of book’s elements have since become classic features of the detective novel: the eventual conviction of the least-likely suspect; a bungling investigation led by local police and taken over by a more perceptive, slightly eccentric detective; the idea of a ‘mcguffin’ or object (in this case a diamond) that everyone wants and around which the plot pivots – to name but a few of the classic tropes first seen here.

The story begins with a brief prologue describing how the eponymous diamond was captured during a military campaign in India by a British officer in 1799. The action moves quickly to 1848 England, where, according to the British officer’s will, the diamond has been given to one of the soldier’s young relatives, Rachel Verinder. Rachel wears the stone to her birthday party, but that night it disappears from her room.

Was it stolen by a relative? A servant? And who are these three Indian men who keep hanging around the estate?

The intriguing and absorbing plot is told from the point of view of multiple characters – fracturing the narrative in a structure with built in suspense and a style that would be much imitated by later novelists.”

Learn More / Purchase Book



3 .) The Murders in the Rue Morgue: The Dupin Tales by Edgar Allan Poe

Lists It Appears On:

  • Scoop Whoop
  • Huffington Post
  • Library Point

While Edgar Allan Poe was most famous for his eerie tales of murder, ghouls, and suspense, he is also credited with paving the way for the future of detective stories with his character C. Auguste Dupin. Dupin made his first appearance in the murder mystery “The Murders in the Rue Morgue,” a tale about the murder of two women. When Dupin questioned witnesses, everyone claimed that the murderer was speaking a different language, yet none of the witnesses could place his accent. Dupin put himself in the mind of the killer and read the faces of witnesses, suspects, and other persons of interest. He also drew inspiration and ideas from outside resources such as newspapers or police reports. As Dupin sought to unravel the mystery, Poe was creating an archetypal character that would be followed by many other great detectives. In the collection “The Murders in the Rue Morgue: The Dupin Tales,” Poe allows Dupin’s genius to shine in stories like “The Murders in the Rue Morgue,” “The Mystery of Marie Roget,” and “The Purloined Letter.” These tales are not typical Poe stories, but instead all follow the cases that detective Dupin solves after other police and investigators are stumped. Dupin showed that, with a little ingenuity and creativity, even the most difficult case could be solved. Mystery lovers and Poe fans will all enjoy this groundbreaking collection and the intrigue that Poe creates within it.

Learn More / Purchase Book



2 .) Murder on the Orient Express by Agatha Christie

Lists It Appears On:

  • Huffington Post
  • Library Point
  • The Lineup
  • Bustle

The Queen of Mystery has come to Harper Collins! Agatha Christie, the acknowledged mistress of suspense—creator of indomitable sleuth Miss Marple, meticulous Belgian detective Hercule Poirot, and so many other unforgettable characters—brings her entire oeuvre of ingenious whodunits, locked room mysteries, and perplexing puzzles to Harper Paperbacks…including Murder on the Orient Express, the most famous Hercule Poirot mystery, which has the brilliant detective hunting for a killer aboard one of the world’s most luxurious passenger trains.

Learn More / Purchase Book



1 .) The Beekeeper’s Apprentice by Laurie R. King

Lists It Appears On:

  • Library Point
  • Bustle
  • The Seattle Public Library
  • Teen Librarian Toolbox

In 1915, Sherlock Holmes is retired and quietly engaged in the study of honeybees in Sussex when a young woman literally stumbles onto him on the Sussex Downs. Fifteen years old, gawky, egotistical, and recently orphaned, the young Mary Russell displays an intellect to impress even Sherlock Holmes. Under his reluctant tutelage, this very modern, twentieth-century woman proves a deft protégée and a fitting partner for the Victorian detective. They are soon called to Wales to help Scotland Yard find the kidnapped daughter of an American senator, a case of international significance with clues that dip deep into Holmes’s past.

Learn More / Purchase Book




The Additional Best Books Similar To Sherlock Holmes



 

# Book Author Lists
(Books Appear On 1 List Each)
19 A Deadly Affection Cuyler Overholt Book Bub
20 A Samba for Sherlock Soares, Jô The Seattle Public Library
21 A Slight Trick of the Mind Cullin, Mitch The Seattle Public Library
22 A Spy in the House (The Agency #1) Y. S. Lee Teen Librarian Toolbox
23 A Study In Lavender: Queering Sherlock Holmes Joseph R.G. DeMarco (Goodreads Author) (Editor) Goodreads
24 A Study in Scarlet Women Sherry Thomas Book Bub
25 A Study in Sherlock: Stories Inspired Laurie R. King (Goodreads Author) (editor) Goodreads
26 Alex Cross Series James Patterson About Great Books
27 Alphabet Series Sue Grafton About Great Books
28 An Arsène Lupin Omnibus Maurice Leblanc Goodreads
29 An Opened Grave James, L. Frank The Seattle Public Library
30 Arabian Nights: The Marvels and Wonders of The Thousand and One Nights Anonymous Goodreads
31 Artemis Fowl Eoin Colfer Jenry Land
32 Arthur Conan Doyle: A Life in Letters Jon Lellenberg (Editor) Goodreads
33 Beastly Bones William Ritter Norma Hinkens
34 Bernie Rhodenbarr Series Lawrence Block About Great Books
35 Best Detective Stories Philip Pullman The Guardian
36 Bleak House Charles Dickens Huffington Post
37 Byomkesh Bakshi Saradindu Bandyopadhyay Scoop Whoop
38 Castle Rouge Douglas, Carole Nelson The Seattle Public Library
39 Cliff Janeway Series John Dunning About Great Books
40 Closed Casket Agatha Christie and Sophie Hannah Book Bub
41 Code Name Verity Elizabeth Wein Teen Librarian Toolbox
42 Colin Fischer The Guardian
43 Dave Gurney Series John Vernon About Great Books
44 Daylight Saving Edward Hogan Teen Librarian Toolbox
45 Deadly Season Champlin, Tim The Seattle Public Library
46 Elements of Mind Walter H. Hunt Forward Reviews
47 Ellery Queen vs Jack the Ripper: A Study in Terror Ellery Queen About Great Books
48 Eye of the Crow (The Boy Sherlock Holmes #1) Shane Peacock Teen Librarian Toolbox
49 Fallen Carey Baldwin About Great Books
50 Fer De Lance Rex Stout Huffington Post
51 Frozen Secrets W.S. Greer Scoop Whoop
52 Gabriel Allon Series Daniel Silva About Great Books
53 Genevieve Lenard Series Estelle Ryan About Great Books
54 Good Night, Mr. Holmes (Irene Adler, #1) Carole Nelson Douglas (Goodreads Author) Goodreads
55 Great Tales and Poems of Edgar Allan Poe Edgar Allan Poe About Great Books
56 Hell Bay Will Thomas Book Bub
57 Hello Darkness The Guardian
58 Hemlock (Hemlock #1) Kathleen Peacock Teen Librarian Toolbox
59 Human Is?: A Philip K. Dick Reader Philip K. Dick Goodreads
60 Infernal Devices series Cassandra Clare Jenry Land
61 Inspector Maigret Georges Simenon About Great Books
62 Inspector Rebus Series Ian Rankin Scoop Whoop
63 Jack Reacher Series Lee Child Scoop Whoop
64 Jesse Stone Series Robert B. Parker About Great Books
65 Jim Chee and Joe Leaphorn Series Tony Hillerman About Great Books
66 Joe Gunther Series Archer Mayor About Great Books
67 Knightley and Son The Guardian
68 Lady Audley’s Secret Mary Elizabeth Braddon Huffington Post
69 Lincoln Rhyme Series Jeffrey Deaver About Great Books
70 Mastermind: How to Think Like Sherlock Holmes Maria Konnikova About Great Books
71 Matt Scudder Series Lawrence Block About Great Books
72 Mei-Tantei Conan The Guardian
73 Mind Games Heather W. Petty Norma Hinkens
74 Moriarty Anthony Horowitz Bustle
75 Mrs. Hudson and the Malabar Rose Davies, Martin The Seattle Public Library
76 My Dearest Holmes Rohase Piercy Goodreads
77 Nevermore William Hjortsberg The Lineup
78 Night Watch Kendrick, Stephen The Seattle Public Library
79 Peter Wimsey Series Dorothy L. Sayers Scoop Whoop
80 Philip Marlowe Series Raymond Chandler Scoop Whoop
81 Presumed Innocent Scott Turrow About Great Books
82 Pudd’nhead Wilson Mark Twain About Great Books
83 Reginald Wexford Series Ruth Renndell Scoop Whoop
84 Richard Jury Series Martha Grimes About Great Books
85 Ripper Stefan Petrucha The Guardian
86 Rod Serling’s Twilight Zone Walter B. Gibson Goodreads
87 Ruler of the Night David Morrell Book Bub
88 Running Girl The Guardian
89 Sam Spade Series Dashiell Hammett Scoop Whoop
90 Scarlett Undercover Jennifer Latham Norma Hinkens
91 Shane Scully Series Stephen J. Cannell About Great Books
92 Sherlock Holmes Rennison, Nick The Seattle Public Library
93 Sherlock Holmes and Philosophy: The Footprints of a Gigantic Mind Josef Steiff (Editor) Goodreads
94 Sherlock Holmes and the Crosby Murder Roberts, Barrie The Seattle Public Library
95 Sherlock Holmes and the Giant Rat of Sumatra Gilbert, Paul D. The Seattle Public Library
96 Sherlock Holmes and the Hapsburg Tiara Vanneman, Alan The Seattle Public Library
97 Sherlock Holmes and the Red Demon Millett, Larry The Seattle Public Library
98 Sherlock Holmes and the Rune Stone Mystery (Sherlock Holmes in Minnesota) Larry Millett About Great Books
99 Sherlock Holmes for Dummies Steven Doyle Goodreads
100 Sherlock Holmes vs Dracula Loren D. Estlema About Great Books
101 Sherlock Holmes vs Jekyll/Hyde Loren D. Estleman About Great Books
102 Sherlock Holmes: The Spirit Box George Mann Forward Reviews
103 Sherlock Holmes: The Unauthorized Biography Nick Rennison About Great Books
104 Sherlock in Love Naslund, Sena Jeter The Seattle Public Library
105 Smoke Gets In Your Eyes: And Other Lessons From the Creamatory Caitlin Doughty Bustle
106 Son of Holmes Lescroart, John T. The Seattle Public Library
107 Stalking Jack the Ripper Kerri Maniscalco Book Bub
108 Stephanie Plum Series Janet Evanovich About Great Books
109 Stone Barrington Series Stuart Woods About Great Books
110 Temperance Brennan Novels Kathy Reichs About Great Books
111 Textermination Christine Brooke-Rose Goodreads
112 The Adventures of Inspector Lestrade Trow, M. J. The Seattle Public Library
113 The Angel of the Opera Siciliano, Sam The Seattle Public Library
114 The Baker Street Letters Robertson, Michael The Seattle Public Library
115 The Big Book of Sherlock Holmes Stories Otto Penzler (Goodreads Author) (Editor) Goodreads
116 The Big Sleep Raymond Chandler About Great Books
117 The Breath of God Guy Adams (Goodreads Author) Goodreads
118 The Brother Cadfael Mysteries Ellis Peters About Great Books
119 The Butterfly Clues Kate Ellison Teen Librarian Toolbox
120 The Case of the Missing Marquess Nancy Springer Jenry Land
121 The Cat Who. . . Series Lilian Jackson Braun About Great Books
122 The Christmas Books, Volume 1: A Christmas Carol/The Chimes Charles Dickens Goodreads
123 The Collected Tales and Poems of Edgar Allan Poe Edgar Allan Poe Goodreads
124 The Complete Holmes Sir Arthur Conan Doyle About Great Books
125 The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time Mark Haddon Jenry Land
126 The Dark Beginnings of Sherlock Holmes Pirie, David The Seattle Public Library
127 The Dark Water: The Strange Beginnings of Sherlock Holmes David Pirie The Lineup
128 The Empress of India Kurland, Michael The Seattle Public Library
129 The Father Brown Stories G.K. Chesterton About Great Books
130 The Fifth Heart Dan Simmons Bustle
131 The Gentleman Bat Abraham Schroder and Pietr Parda, illustrator Forward Reviews
132 The Harry Bosch Series Michael Connelly About Great Books
133 the Holmes Canon Goodreads
134 The Hound of the Baskervilles Sir Arthur Conan Doyle The Lineup
135 The House of Silk Horowitz, Anthony The Seattle Public Library
136 The Inheritance Charles Finch Book Bub
137 The Interpretation Of Murder Jed Rubenfeld Scoop Whoop
138 The Last Days of Night Graham Moore Book Bub
139 The Last Little Blue Envelope Maureen Johnson Jenry Land
140 The London Eye Mystery Siobhan Dowd Jenry Land
141 The Lord Peter Wimsey Mysteries Dorothy L. Sayers About Great Books
142 The Mammoth Book of Best Crime Comics Paul Gravett (Editor) Goodreads
143 The Mammoth Book of New Sherlock Holmes Adventures Mike Ashley, Editor, Michael Moorcock About Great Books
144 The Mammoth Book of the Lost Chronicles of Sherlock Holmes Denis O. Smith (Goodreads Author) Goodreads
145 The Man Who Created Sherlock Holmes: The Life and Times of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle Andrew Lycett Goodreads
146 The Mandala of Sherlock Holmes: The Adventures of the Great Detective in India and Tibet Jamyang Norbu About Great Books
147 The Martian Andy Weir Bustle
148 The Mistletoe Murder and Other Stories P. D. James Book Bub
149 The Mystery of Marie Roget Edgar Allan Poe Huffington Post
150 The Name of the Star Maureen Johnson Teen Librarian Toolbox
151 The Naturals Jennifer Lynn Barnes Teen Librarian Toolbox
152 The New Adventures of Sherlock Holmes: Original Stories edited Martin Harry Greenberg and Carol-Lynn Rossel Waugh Library Point
153 The Nine Tailors Dorothy L. Sayers The Lineup
154 The No.1 Ladies’ Detective Agency Series Alexander McCall Smith Scoop Whoop
155 The Number 1 Ladies Detective Agency Alexander McCall Smith About Great Books
156 The Oriental Casebook of Sherlock Holmes Riccardi, Theodore The Seattle Public Library
157 The Penguin Book of Victorian Women in Crime: Forgotten Cops and Private Eyes from the Time of Sherlock Holmes Michael Sims (Editor) Goodreads
158 The Private Life of Sherlock Holmes Vincent Starrett The Lineup
159 The Purloined Letter. Edgar Allan Poe Huffington Post
160 The Queen’s Accomplice Susan Elia MacNeal Book Bub
161 The Revolutions Felix Gilman Forward Reviews
162 The Scottish Ploy Fawcett, Quinn The Seattle Public Library
163 The Secret Cases of Sherlock Holmes Thomas, Donald The Seattle Public Library
164 The Secret of Abdu El Yezdi Mark Hodder Forward Reviews
165 The Seven Percent Solution Nicholas Meyer (1993) About Great Books
166 The Shadow of Reichenbach Falls King, J. Robert The Seattle Public Library
167 The Skeleton Crew: How Amateur Sleuths are Solving America’s Coldest Cases Deborah Halber Bustle
168 The Spenser Series Robert B. Parker About Great Books
169 The Star of India Buggé, Carole The Seattle Public Library
170 The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde Robert Louis Stevenson Huffington Post
171 The Strange Return of Sherlock Holmes Grant, Barry The Seattle Public Library
172 The Surrogate Assassin Leppek, Christopher The Seattle Public Library
173 The Suspicions of Mr. Whicher Kate Summerscale Huffington Post
174 The Thin Man Dashiell Hammett About Great Books
175 The Ultimate Truth Kevin Brooks The Guardian
176 Timothy Wilde Series Lyndsay Faye About Great Books
177 Too Many Cooks and Champagne for One Rex Stout Library Point
178 Travis McGee Series John D. MacDonald About Great Books
179 Twelve Minutes to Midnight The Guardian
180 West End Horror: A Posthumous Memoir of John H. Watson, M.D. Nicholas Meyer About Great Books


16 Best Sherlock Holmes Book Sources/Lists



Source Article
About Great Books Top 50 Great Books Like Sherlock Holmes
Book Bub 10 New Mysteries to Read If You Love ‘Sherlock Holmes’
Book Riot 3 ON A YA THEME: TAKES ON SHERLOCK
Bustle 9 Books to Read to Remind Yourself of Your Inner ‘Sherlock’ Fangirl, Because No One Should Have to Wait This Long
Forward Reviews 6 Steampunk Tales for the Impatient Sherlock Fan
Goodreads Books like Sherlock Holmes
Huffington Post 8 Classic Detective Stories That AREN’T Sherlock Holmes
Jenry Land YA Books for Fans of Sherlock
Library Point If you like The Hound of the Baskervilles by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
Norma Hinkens 4 Awesome YA Novels Inspired by Sherlock Holmes
Scoop Whoop 18 More Detective Novels Worth Reading If You Love Sherlock Holmes
Teen Librarian Toolbox Take 5: It’s Elementary (YA Fiction for fans of Sherlock)
The Book Insider 6 Books Better Than Your Favorite TV Shows
The Guardian Beyond Sherlock: are there any good detective novels for teens?
The Lineup 10 BOOKS FOR SHERLOCK HOLMES FANS
The Seattle Public Library Norma Hinkens

 

You Might Also Like