Type to search

Best Books Fantasy Fiction For Fans Of Science Fiction Similar to

The Best Books For Fans Of The Hitchhiker’s Guide To The Galaxy

Share

“What are the best books For Fans Of Douglas Adams Hitchhikers Guide To The Galaxy?” We looked at 151 of the top books, aggregating and ranking them so we could answer that very question!

The top 17 books, all appearing on 2 or more “Best Books Similar To Hitchhikers Guide To The Galaxy” lists, are ranked below by how many times they appear. The remaining 100+ titles, as well as the lists we used, are in alphabetical order at the bottom of the page.

Happy Scrolling!



Top 17 Best Books For Fans Of The Hitchhikers Guide To The Galaxy



17 .) A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle

Lists It Appears On:

  • BBC America
  • Taste Dive

“It was a dark and stormy night; Meg Murry, her small brother Charles Wallace, and her mother had come down to the kitchen for a midnight snack when they were upset by the arrival of a most disturbing stranger.

“”Wild nights are my glory,”” the unearthly stranger told them. “”I just got caught in a downdraft and blown off course. Let me sit down for a moment, and then I’ll be on my way. Speaking of ways, by the way, there is such a thing as a tesseract.””

A tesseract (in case the reader doesn’t know) is a wrinkle in time. To tell more would rob the reader of the enjoyment of Miss L’Engle’s unusual book. A Wrinkle in Time, winner of the Newbery Medal in 1963, is the story of the adventures in space and time of Meg, Charles Wallace, and Calvin O’Keefe (athlete, student, and one of the most popular boys in high school). They are in search of Meg’s father, a scientist who disappeared while engaged in secret work for the government on the tesseract problem.”

Purchase / Learn More



16 .) And Another Thing by Eoin Colfer

Lists It Appears On:

  • Taste Dive
  • Barnes & Noble

And Another Thing … will be the sixth novel in the now improbably named Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy trilogy. Eight years after the death of its creator, Douglas Adams, the author’s widow, Jane Belson, has given her approval for the project to be continued by the international number one bestselling children’s writer, Eoin Colfer, author of the Artemis Fowl novels. Douglas Adams himself once said, ‘I suspect at some point in the future I will write a sixth Hitchhiker book. Five seems to be a wrong kind of number, six is a better kind of number.’ Belson said of Eoin Colfer, ‘I love his books and could not think of a better person to transport Arthur, Zaphod and Marvin to pastures new.’ Colfer, a fan of Hitchhiker since his schooldays, said, ‘Being given the chance to write this book is like suddenly being offered the superpower of your choice. For years I have been finishing this incredible story in my head and now I have the opportunity to do it in the real world.’ Prepare to be amazed…

Purchase / Learn More



15 .) Bill, the Galatic Hero by Harry Harrison

Lists It Appears On:

  • Library Point
  • Quora

Bill was a peaceful farm boy until he was lured by the martial music of a passing recruitment sergeant, drugged, and made to enlist in the Empire Space Corps. His basic training is sheer hell, but somehow he manages to stay alive and achieve the rank of Fusetender 6th Class in the process. En route to an engagement with the lizard-like Chingers, Bill’s spaceship is involved in a supreme conflict and — by accident — Bill is the man who saves the ship and wins the day. A grateful Galaxy awards him its highest accolade: the Purple Dart, to be presented by the Emperor himself on the fabulous aluminium-covered planet Helio. And then his adventures really start to take off in the most bizarre and surprising ways …

Purchase / Learn More



14 .) Guards, Guards! by Terry Pratchett

Lists It Appears On:

  • Reddit
  • Taste Dive

“Long believed extinct, a superb specimen of draco nobilis (“”noble dragon”” for those who don’t understand italics) has appeared in Discworld’s greatest city. Not only does this unwelcome visitor have a nasty habit of charbroiling everything in its path, in rather short order it is crowned King (it is a noble dragon, after all…). How did it get there? How is the Unique and Supreme Lodge of the Elucidated Brethren of the Ebon Night involved? Can the Ankh-Morpork City Watch restore order – and the Patrician of Ankh-Morpork to power?

Magic, mayhem, and a marauding dragon…who could ask for anything more?”

Purchase / Learn More



13 .) Infinity Welcomes Careful Drivers (Red Dwarf #1) by Grant Naylor

Lists It Appears On:

  • Goodreads
  • Goodreads 2

Awakening from a drunken spree in a London pub to find himself on one of Saturn’s moons, Lister joins the Space Corps and boards the Red Dwarf, determined to return to Earth

Purchase / Learn More



12 .) Interesting Times (Discworld, #17; Rincewind #5) by Terry Pratchett

Lists It Appears On:

  • Taste Dive
  • Goodreads

“Another outrageously clever installment in the Discworld files, Interesting Times reminds the world why Terry Pratchett is considered the best fantasy and humor writer in the English speaking world.

When a carrier albatross arrives from the Counterweight Continent with an Urgent Request for a “”Great Wizard,”” Rincewind is “”volunteered.”” Along his absurdly delicious travels, he meets a colorful band of characters only Terry Pratchett could compile. Their mission is to either defend or destroy the Forbidden City of Hunghung. The instructions are not entirely clear.”

Purchase / Learn More



11 .) Lords and Ladies (Discworld, #14; Witches #4) by Terry Pratchett

Lists It Appears On:

  • Taste Dive
  • Goodreads 2

The fairies are back, but this time they don’t just want your teeth . . . Granny Weatherwax and her tiny coven are up against real elves. There’s a full supporting cast of dwarfs, wizards, trolls, Morris dancers and one orangutan. It’s Midsummer Night — no time for dreaming. And lots of hey-nonny-nonny and blood all over the place.

Purchase / Learn More



10 .) Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman

Lists It Appears On:

  • BBC America
  • Taste Dive

Richard Mayhew is a young London businessman with a good heart whose life is changed forever when he stops to help a bleeding girl—an act of kindness that plunges him into a world he never dreamed existed. Slipping through the cracks of reality, Richard lands in Neverwhere—a London of shadows and darkness, monsters and saints, murderers and angels that exists entirely in a subterranean labyrinth. Neverwhere is home to Door, the mysterious girl Richard helped in the London Above. Here in Neverwhere, Door is a powerful noblewoman who has vowed to find the evil agent of her family’s slaughter and thwart the destruction of this strange underworld kingdom. If Richard is ever to return to his former life and home, he must join Lady Door’s quest to save her world—and may well die trying.

Purchase / Learn More



9 .) The Eyre Affair by Jasper Fforde

Lists It Appears On:

  • Library Point
  • Quora

Fans of Douglas Adams and P. G. Wodehouse will love visiting Jasper Fforde’s Great Britain, circa 1985, when time travel is routine, cloning is a reality (dodos are the resurrected pet of choice), and literature is taken very, very seriously: it’s a bibliophile’s dream. England is a virtual police state where an aunt can get lost (literally) in a Wordsworth poem and forging Byronic verse is a punishable offense. All this is business as usual for Thursday Next, renowned Special Operative in literary detection. But when someone begins kidnapping characters from works of literature and plucks Jane Eyre from the pages of Brontë’s novel, Thursday is faced with the challenge of her career. Fforde’s ingenious fantasy—enhanced by a Web site that re-creates the world of the novel—unites intrigue with English literature in a delightfully witty mix.

Purchase / Learn More



8 .) The Long Dark Tea-Time Of The Soul by Douglas Adams

Lists It Appears On:

  • Quora
  • Taste Dive

When a passenger check-in desk shoots through the roof of a terminal at Heathrow Airport in flames, Dirk Gently investigates the cosmic forces at play

Purchase / Learn More



7 .) The Time Machine by H.G. Wells

Lists It Appears On:

  • Taste Dive
  • Goodreads

H.G. Wells, a pioneer in the science fiction genre, produced awesomely imaginative novels whose technologies seem impossibly sophisticated for a writer living in an era before automobiles and the widespread application of electricity. In his work The Time Machine, Wells Time Traveller, a gentleman inventor living in England, traverses first thousands of years and then millions into the future, before bringing back the knowledge of the grave degeneration of the human race and the planet. One wonders if Wells could truly see into the future, as over 100 years after its publication date his visions seem timelier than ever.

Purchase / Learn More



6 .) To Say Nothing of the Dog, Or How We Found the Bishop’s Bird Stump at Last by Connie Willis

Lists It Appears On:

  • Library Point
  • AM Reading

“Ned Henry is badly in need of a rest. He’s been shuttling between the 21st century and the 1940s searching for a Victorian atrocity called the bishop’s bird stump. It’s part of a project to restore the famed Coventry Cathedral, destroyed in a Nazi air raid over a hundred years earlier.

But then Verity Kindle, a fellow time traveler, inadvertently brings back something from the past. Now Ned must jump back to the Victorian era to help Verity put things right–not only to save the project but to prevent altering history itself.”

Purchase / Learn More



5 .) Good Omens by Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett

Lists It Appears On:

  • Quora
  • Reddit
  • Taste Dive

“There is a distinct hint of Armageddon in the air. According to The Nice and Accurate Prophecies of Agnes Nutter, Witch (recorded, thankfully, in 1655, before she blew up her entire village and all its inhabitants, who had gathered to watch her burn), the world will end on a Saturday. Next Saturday, in fact. So the armies of Good and Evil are amassing, the Four Bikers of the Apocalypse are revving up their mighty hogs and hitting the road, and the world’s last two remaining witch-finders are getting ready to fight the good fight, armed with awkwardly antiquated instructions and stick pins. Atlantis is rising, frogs are falling, tempers are flaring. . . . Right. Everything appears to be going according to Divine Plan.

Except that a somewhat fussy angel and a fast-living demon — each of whom has lived among Earth’s mortals for many millennia and has grown rather fond of the lifestyle — are not particularly looking forward to the coming Rapture. If Crowley and Aziraphale are going to stop it from happening, they’ve got to find and kill the Antichrist (which is a shame, as he’s a really nice kid). There’s just one glitch: someone seems to have misplaced him. . . .”

Purchase / Learn More



4 .) Cat’s Cradle by Kurt Vonnegut

Lists It Appears On:

  • Quora
  • Reddit
  • AM Reading
  • Library Point

Cat’s Cradle is Kurt Vonnegut’s satirical commentary on modern man and his madness. An apocalyptic tale of this planet’s ultimate fate, it features a midget as the protagonist, a complete, original theology created by a calypso singer, and a vision of the future that is at once blackly fatalistic and hilariously funny. A book that left an indelible mark on an entire generation of readers, Cat’s Cradle is one of the twentieth century’s most important works—and Vonnegut at his very best.

Purchase / Learn More



3 .) Foundation by Isaac Asimov

Lists It Appears On:

  • Taste Dive
  • Goodreads 2
  • Goodreads
  • Taste Dive

It is the saga of the Galactic Empire, crumbling after twelve thousand years of rule. And it is the particular story of psychohistorian Hari Seldon, the only man who can see the horrors the future has in store—a dark age of ignorance, barbarism, and violence that will last for thirty thousand years. Gathering a band of courageous men and women, Seldon leads them to a hidden location at the edge of the galaxy, where he hopes they can preserve human knowledge and wisdom through the age of darkness.

Purchase / Learn More



2 .) The Colour of Magic by Terry Pratchett

Lists It Appears On:

  • AM Reading
  • BBC America
  • Library Point
  • Taste Dive

“The beginning of the hilarious and irreverent series that has more than 80 million copies worldwide, The Color of Magic is where we meet tourist Twoflower and wizard guide Ricewind, and follow them on their always-bizarre journeys.

A writer who has been compared to Mark Twain, Kurt Vonnegut, and Douglas Adams, Sir Terry Pratchett has created a complex, yet zany world filled with a host of unforgettable characters who navigate around a profound fantasy universe, complete with its own set of cultures and rules.”

Purchase / Learn More



1 .) Dirk Gently’s Holistic Detective Agency by Douglas Adams

Lists It Appears On:

  • Quora
  • Reddit
  • Taste Dive
  • AM Reading
  • Barnes & Noble

“DIRK GENTLY’S HOLISTIC DETECTIVE AGENCY
We solve the whole crime
We find the whole person
Phone today for the whole solution to your problem
(Missing cats and messy divorces a specialty)

Douglas Adams, the “master of wacky words and even wackier tales” (Entertainment Weekly) once again boggles the mind with a completely unbelievable story of ghosts, time travel, eccentric computer geniuses, Samuel Taylor Coleridge, the end of the world, and—of course—missing cats.”

Purchase / Learn More




The 125+ Additional Best Books similar to The Hitchhikers Guide To The Galaxy



 

#BookAuthorLists
(Titles Appear On 1 List Each)
182001: A Space OdysseyTaste Dive
19A Brief History of Britain 1066-1485Nicholas VincentGoodreads
20A Fine and Pleasant MiseryReddit
21A Hat Full Of SkyTaste Dive
22A Scanner DarklyPhilip K. Dick
Goodreads 2
23Absolution GapAlastair Reynolds
Goodreads 2
24Agatha Heterodyne and the Siege of Mechanicsburg (Girl Genius, #12)Phil FoglioGoodreads
25American GodsTaste Dive
26Anansi BoysTaste Dive
27Another Roadside AttractionTom Robbins
Library Point
28AnowaAma Ata Aidoo
AM Reading
29Backwards (Red Dwarf #4)Rob GrantGoodreads
30BellwetherConnie Willis
Goodreads 2
31Bossy PantsQuora
32Brothers in Arms (Vorkosigan Saga, #5)Lois McMaster Bujold
Goodreads 2
33Callahan’s Crosstime SaloonReddit
34Carpe JugulumTaste Dive
35Castle PerilousReddit
36Catch-22Reddit
37Chicks in ChainmailReddit
38City of DeathJames Goss, Douglas Adams, & David Fisher
Barnes & Noble
39Cowboy FengReddit
40Diamond Mask (Galactic Milieu Trilogy, #2)Julian MayGoodreads
41Dimension of Miracles”Robert ShecklyQuora
42Disc WorldTaste Dive
43
Do Androids Dream Of Electric Sheep?
Taste Dive
44DuneTaste Dive
45EarthDavid Brin
Goodreads 2
46Ender’s GameTaste Dive
47Ender’s ShadowTaste Dive
48Equal RitesTaste Dive
49EricTaste Dive
50Feet Of ClayTaste Dive
51
Fierce Invalids Home from Hot Climate
Quora
52First Contact: Or, It’s Later Than You ThinkEvan ManderyJet Shred
53Foreigner (Foreigner, #1)C.J. Cherryh
Goodreads 2
54Fragile ThingsTaste Dive
55Going PostalTaste Dive
56Hal SpacejockSimon HaynesGoodreads
57His Dark MaterialsTaste Dive
58HogfatherTaste Dive
59I Shall Wear MidnightTaste Dive
60I, RobotTaste Dive
61JheregReddit
62JingoTaste Dive
63Life, The Universe And EverythingTaste Dive
64Making MoneyTaste Dive
65MaskeradeTaste Dive
66Men At ArmsTaste Dive
67Methuselah’s ChildrenRobert A. HeinleinGoodreads
68Monstrous RegimentTaste Dive
69More Trees to ClimbBen Moor
BBC America
70MortTaste Dive
71Mostly HarmlessTaste Dive
72Mother NightReddit
73Moving PicturesTaste Dive
74Mussolini: His Part In My Downfall (War Memoirs, #4)Spike MilliganGoodreads
75NeuromancerTaste Dive
76Night WatchTaste Dive
77Nursery CrimesQuora
78Phule’s CompanyReddit
79PyramidsTaste Dive
80Reaper ManTaste Dive
81Rendezvous With RamaTaste Dive
82Resplendent (Destiny’s Children, #4)Stephen BaxterGoodreads
83Right Ho, JeevesReddit
84RingworldTaste Dive
85Sirens of TitanReddit
86Slaughterhouse 5Reddit
87Small GodsTaste Dive
88Smoke And MirrorsTaste Dive
89Snow CrashTaste Dive
90
So Long, And Thanks For All The Fish
Taste Dive
91So You Want to Be a WizardDiane Duane
Barnes & Noble
92Soul MusicTaste Dive
93SourceryTaste Dive
94SparksDavid Quantick
BBC America
95Speaker For The DeadTaste Dive
96SpellsingerReddit
97StardustTaste Dive
98Starship Titanic”Terry JonesQuora
99Starship TroopersTaste Dive
100Stranger In A Strange LandTaste Dive
101SuperMutant Magic AcademyJillian Tamaki
Barnes & Noble
102
Surely you must be joking Mr. Feynman
Quora
103
The Amazing Maurice And His Educated Rodents
Taste Dive
104The Amber SpyglassTaste Dive
105The Big Over EasyReddit
106The Brentford TriangleRobert RankinGoodreads
107The Complete Alan Moore Future ShocksAlan Moore and Various Artists
Barnes & Noble
108The Complete Robot (Robot #0.3)Isaac AsimovGoodreads
109The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-timeMark Haddon
Library Point
110The Day of the TriffidsJohn Wyndham
Goodreads 2
111The Fellowship Of The RingTaste Dive
112The Fifth ElephantTaste Dive
113The Golden CompassTaste Dive
114The Great Dune TrilogyFrank HerbertGoodreads
115The HumansMatt Haig
BBC America
116The Hyperion Omnibus: Hyperion / The Fall of HyperionDan SimmonsGoodreads
117The Last ContinentTaste Dive
118The Last HeroTaste Dive
119The Light FantasticTaste Dive
120The Naked God (Night’s Dawn, #3)Peter F. HamiltonGoodreads
121The Next Set (Thursday Next, #1-4)Jasper FfordeGoodreads
122The Philosophical StranglerEric Flint
Library Point
123The Player of Games (Culture, #2)Iain M. Banks
Goodreads 2
124The Princess BrideTaste Dive
125The Reluctant KingReddit
126The Rest of Us Just Live HerePatrick Ness
BBC America
127
The Restaurant At The End Of The Universe
Taste Dive
128The Return Of The KingTaste Dive
129The Salmon Of DoubtTaste Dive
130The SandmanTaste Dive
131The Secret of Platform 13Eva Ibbotson
AM Reading
132The Sheriff of YrnameerMichael RubensJet Shred
133The Stainless Steel RatQuora
134The Subtle KnifeTaste Dive
135The Tasmanian Babes FiascoJohn BirminghamGoodreads
136The Tripods Trilogy (The Tripods, #1-3)John Christopher
Goodreads 2
137The TruthTaste Dive
138The Two TowersTaste Dive
139The War Of The WorldsTaste Dive
140The Wee Free MenTaste Dive
141The Winds of Dune (Heroes of Dune #2)Brian HerbertGoodreads
142They Shoot Canoes Don’tReddit
143Thief Of TimeTaste Dive
144Thud!Taste Dive
145
Twenty Thousand Leagues Under The Sea
Taste Dive
146Unseen AcademicalsTaste Dive
147V For VendettaTaste Dive
148WatchmenTaste Dive
149WintersmithTaste Dive
150Witches AbroadTaste Dive
151Wyrd SistersTaste Dive


10 Best Book For Fans Of Douglas AdamsSources/Lists



SourceArticle
AM Reading 6 Books To Read If You Loved ‘Hitchhiker’s Guide To The Galaxy’
Barnes & Noble Fighting Post-Hitchhiker’s Disorder: 6 Essential Books for Douglas Adams Fans
BBC America 7 Books All Douglas Adams Fans Should Read
Goodreads Books like The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy: A Trilogy in Four Parts
Goodreads 2 Books like The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy (Hitchhiker’s Guide, #1)
Jet Shred Books Like Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy
Library Point If You Like The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams
Quora Are there any other books like Hitchhiker’s Guide To The Galaxy?
Reddit Can anyone suggest books similar to Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy?
Taste Dive IF YOU LIKE