Type to search

Best Books Fiction For Fans Of Similar to

The Best Books To Read For Fans Of Jurassic Park

Share

“What are the best books for fans of Jurassic Park?” We looked at 126 of the top books, aggregating and ranking them so we could answer that very question!

The top 11 titles, all appearing on 2 or more “Best Books For Fans Of Jurassic Park” lists, are ranked below by how many times they appear. The remaining 100+ books, as well as the lists we used, are in alphabetical order at the bottom of the page.

Happy Scrolling!



Top 11 Books For Fans of Jurassic Park



11 .) Contact by Carl Sagan

Lists It Appears On:

  • Taste Dive
  • Goodreads 2

“In December, 1999, a multinational team journeys out to the stars, to the most awesome encounter in human history. Who — or what — is out there?
In Cosmos, Carl Sagan explained the universe. In Contact, he predicts its future — and our own.”

Purchase / Learn More



10 .) Dinosaur Summer by Greg Bear

Lists It Appears On:

  • Prehistoric Pulp
  • Kirkus

Fifty years after Professor Challenger’s discovery of the Lost World, America’s last dinosaur circus has gone bankrupt, leaving a dozen avisaurs, centrosaurs, ankylosaurs, and one large raptor abandoned. Now a daring expedition plans to do the impossible: return the Jurassic giants to the wild. Two filmmakers, a circus trainer, a journalist, and a young Peter Belzoni must find a way to take the dinosaurs across oceans, continents, rivers, jungles, up a mountain that has been isolated for seventy thousand years . . . Then, if they make it, all they will do is face the prehistoric wonders, dangers, and terrors of the Lost World.

Purchase / Learn More



9 .) Dinosaur Tales by Ray Bradbury

Lists It Appears On:

  • Tor
  • Bookriot

Dinosaur Tales is a Magnificent Collection of Famous Tales by RAY BRADBURY, One of America’s Best-Loved and Best-Selling Authors. In This Elegantly Designed and Illustrated Book, Bradbury Presents All of His Dinosaur Stories in One Volume!

Purchase / Learn More



8 .) Footprints of Thunder by James F. David

Lists It Appears On:

  • Goodreads
  • Kirkus

When the boundaries between past and present dissolve, flooding the earth with dinosaurs and turning cities into primeval forests, an increasingly unstable American president searches desperately for a solution to the imminent apocalypse.

Purchase / Learn More



7 .) Terminator 2: Judgment Day by Randall Frakes

Lists It Appears On:

  • Goodreads
  • Goodreads 2

A second Terminator returns to the past to murder John Connor–destined to lead the human Resistance against the machines–while he is still a boy, but meets a formidable enemy in Connor’s protector

Purchase / Learn More



6 .) The Andromeda Strain by Michael Crichton

Lists It Appears On:

  • Taste Dive
  • Off The Shelf

A military space probe, sent to collect extraterrestrial organisms from the upper atmosphere, is knocked out of orbit and falls to Earth. Twelve miles from the crash site, an inexplicable and deadly phenomenon terrorizes the residents of a sleepy desert town in Arizona, leaving only two survivors: an elderly addict and a newborn infant. The United States government is forced to mobilize Project Wildfire, a top-secret emergency response protocol. Four of the nation’s most elite biophysicists are summoned to a clandestine underground laboratory located five stories beneath the desert and fitted with an automated atomic self-destruction mechanism for cases of irremediable contamination. Under conditions of total news blackout and the utmost urgency, the scientists race to understand and contain the crisis. But the Andromeda Strain proves different from anything they’ve ever seen—and what they don’t know could not only hurt them, but lead to unprecedented worldwide catastrophe.

Purchase / Learn More



5 .) The Last Command (Star Wars: The Thrawn Trilogy, #3) by Timothy Zahn

Lists It Appears On:

  • Goodreads
  • Goodreads 2

This third and final instalment spans a galaxy in flames. The fragile New Republic reels from the attacks of Grand Admiral Thrawn, who has not only rallied the remaining Imperial forces, but has driven the rebels back with an abominable new technology – clone soldiers.

Purchase / Learn More



4 .) Tyrannosaur Canyon (Wyman Ford #1) by Douglas Preston

Lists It Appears On:

  • Goodreads
  • Goodreads 2

“A moon rock missing for thirty years…
Five buckets of blood-soaked sand found in a New Mexico canyon…
A scientist with ambition enough to kill…
A monk who will redeem the world…
A dark agency with a deadly mission…
The greatest scientific discovery of all time…
What fire bolt from the galactic dark shattered the Earth eons ago, and now hides in that remote cleft in the southwest U.S. known as Tyrannosaur Canyon?”

Purchase / Learn More



3 .) Dinosaur Planet by Anne McCaffrey

Lists It Appears On:

  • Tor
  • Bookriot
  • Kirkus

Kai and his beautiful co-leader Varian had a simple enough mission–to catalogue fauna and flora and search for new energy sources for the Federated Sentient Planets. But what they discovered was awesome. The creatures were larger, the resources were smaller, and the rescue ship had disappeared….

Purchase / Learn More



2 .) Raptor Red by Robert T. Bakker

Lists It Appears On:

  • Prehistoric Pulp
  • Goodreads
  • Goodreads 2
  • Bookriot

“A pair of fierce but beautiful eyes look out from the undergrowth of conifers. She is an intelligent killer…

So begins one of the most extraordinary novels you will ever read. The time is 120 million years ago, the place is the plains of prehistoric Utah, and the eyes belong to an unforgettable heroine. Her name is Raptor Red, and she is a female Raptor dinosaur.

Painting a rich and colorful picture of a lush prehistoric world, leading paleontologist Robert T. Bakker tells his story from within Raptor Red’s extraordinary mind, dramatizing his revolutionary theories in this exciting tale. From a tragic loss to the fierce struggle for survival to a daring migration to the Pacific Ocean to escape a deadly new predator, Raptor Red combines fact an fiction to capture for the first time the thoughts, emotions, and behaviors of the most magnificent, enigmatic creatures ever to walk the face of the earth.”

Purchase / Learn More



1 .) The Lost World by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

Lists It Appears On:

  • Taste Dive
  • Off The Shelf
  • Prehistoric Pulp
  • Tor
  • Bookriot

What if dinosaurs never really died out, and are still living in a remote corner of the world? This is a recurring scenario in books and films, but Arthur Conan Doyle got there first with his 1912 novel, The Lost World. The hot-tempered Professor Challenger has organized an expedition to the wild jungles of South America. Together with a fellow scientist, a hunter, and a journalist, he makes his way to a volcanic plateau where they encounter creatures left over from another age. Will they be able to survive in this terrifying ancient world? Exciting, imaginative, and humorous from start to finish, The Lost World is a treat for readers of all ages.

Purchase / Learn More




The 100+ Additional Best Books Similar To Jurassic Park



 

#BooksAuthorLists
(Titles Appear On 1 List Each)
12300Taste Dive
1320,000 Leagues Under the SeaJules Verne
Off The Shelf
142010: Odyssey Two (Space Odyssey, #2)Arthur C. Clarke
Goodreads 2
15AirframeTaste Dive
16Aliens: The Female WarSteve PerryGoodreads
17AncestorScott SiglerKirkus
18Back to the Future, Part 3Craig Shaw GardnerGoodreads
19Bag Of BonesTaste Dive
20Black HouseTaste Dive
21Bones of the EarthMichael Swanwick
Prehistoric Pulp
22CarnosaurHarry Adam Knight
Prehistoric Pulp
23CellTaste Dive
24ChristineTaste Dive
25CongoTaste Dive
26Cryptozoic!Brian W. AldissTor
27CujoTaste Dive
28Dexter By DesignTaste Dive
29Different SeasonsTaste Dive
30Dinosaurs!Jack Dann and Gardner Dozois
Prehistoric Pulp
31DreamcatcherTaste Dive
32Drug of ChoiceJohn LangeGoodreads
33Eaters Of The DeadTaste Dive
34End of an EraRobert J. Sawye
Prehistoric Pulp
35Ender In ExileTaste Dive
36ExcavationJames RollinsGoodreads
37Fantastic Voyage II: Destination BrainIsaac AsimovGoodreads
38Far-Seer (Quintaglio Ascension, #1)Robert J. SawyerGoodreads
39FirestarterTaste Dive
40Flood Tide (Dirk Pitt, #14)Clive CusslerGoodreads
41Four Past MidnightTaste Dive
42FragmentWarren FahyKirkus
43FrankensteinMary Shelley
Off The Shelf
44Gerald’s GameTaste Dive
45HannibalTaste Dive
46Hannibal RisingTaste Dive
47Hearts In AtlantisTaste Dive
48Heir To The EmpireTaste Dive
49HungerWilliam R. DantzKirkus
50I Am LegendTaste Dive
51Ice HuntJames Rollins
Goodreads 2
52If There Be ThornsTaste Dive
53InsomniaTaste Dive
54Iron Fist (Star Wars: X-Wing, #6)Aaron Allston
Goodreads 2
55ItTaste Dive
56JawsPeter Benchley
Goodreads 2
57Jurassic Park IIIScott CiencinGoodreads
58Justice LeagueTaste Dive
59Moreta: Dragonlady of Pern (Pern, #7)Anne McCaffrey
Goodreads 2
60Needful ThingsTaste Dive
61NextTaste Dive
62Night ShiftTaste Dive
63On The BeachTaste Dive
64
On Writing: A Memoir Of The Craft
Taste Dive
65Piercing The DarknessTaste Dive
66Planet of the ApesPierre Boulle
Off The Shelf
67PreyTaste Dive
68Primal Waters (MEG #3)Steve AltenGoodreads
69Quintaglio Ascension TrilogyRobert J. SawyerTor
70Rainbow Six (Jack Ryan Universe, #10)Tom ClancyGoodreads
71Red DragonTaste Dive
72Red Storm RisingTaste Dive
73Rivers of TimeL. Sprague de Camp
Prehistric Pulp
74Seeds Of YesterdayTaste Dive
75Skeleton CrewTaste Dive
76SphereTaste Dive
77Spider-ManTaste Dive
78Star Trek: The Next Generation Technical ManualRick SternbachGoodreads
79Star WarsTaste Dive
80State Of FearTaste Dive
81The Amazing Spider-ManTaste Dive
82The Children Of MenTaste Dive
83
The Claiming Of Sleeping Beauty
Taste Dive
84The Dark HalfTaste Dive
85
The Dark Tower VI: Song Of Susannah
Taste Dive
86
The Dark Tower VII: The Dark Tower
Taste Dive
87The Dead ZoneTaste Dive
88The Dinosaur LordsVictor MilánTor
89The End Of FaithTaste Dive
90The ExorcistTaste Dive
91The Fall of Hyperion (Hyperion Cantos, #2)Dan Simmons
Goodreads 2
92The Forever WarTaste Dive
93The GamesTed KosmatkaKirkus
94
The Girl Who Loved Tom Gordon
Taste Dive
95The Great Train RobberyTaste Dive
96The Green MileTaste Dive
97The Hunt for Red October (Jack Ryan Universe, #4)Tom Clancy
Goodreads 2
98The Hutt Gambit (Star Wars: The Han Solo Trilogy, #2)A.C. Crispin
Goodreads 2
99The Krytos Trap (Star Wars: X-Wing, #3)Michael A. Stackpole
Goodreads 2
100The MistTaste Dive
101The Night at the MuseumMilan TrencGoodreads
102The OathTaste Dive
103The Omnivore’s DilemmaTaste Dive
104The Problem Of PainTaste Dive
105The Ransom of Black Stealth One (Aerospace Systems, #1)Dean IngGoodreads
106The Silence of the Lambs (Hannibal Lecter, #2)Thomas Harris
Goodreads 2
107The Star Wars TrilogyGeorge LucasGoodreads
108The StrainTaste Dive
109The Sum Of All FearsTaste Dive
110The Survivors of the Chancellor (Extraordinary Voyages, #13)Jules Verne
Goodreads 2
111The TalismanTaste Dive
112The Thief Of AlwaysTaste Dive
113The TommyknockersTaste Dive
114The Trench (MEG, #2)Steve Alten
Goodreads 2
115The Trikon DeceptionBen BovaGoodreads
116The TroopNick Cutter
Off The Shelf
117ThinnerTaste Dive
118This Present DarknessTaste Dive
119ThorTaste Dive
120Thunder SeriesJames F. DavidTor
121TimelineTaste Dive
122Under the DomeStephen King
Off The Shelf
123UtopiaLincoln Child
Goodreads 2
124West of EdenHarry Harrison
Prehistric Pulp
125Wolf-SpeakerTaste Dive
126ZooJames Patterson and Michael Ledwidge
Off The Shelf


8 Best Books Like The Jurassic Park Book and Movie Sources/Lists



SourceArticle
Bookriot RAWR: 5 AWESOME BOOKS FEATURING DINOSAURS
Goodreads Books like The Lost World
Goodreads 2 Books like Jurassic Park
Kirkus A Jurassic World–Inspired Reading List
Off The Shelf 9 Novels to Cure Your Post-Jurassic World Entertainment Slump
Prehistoric Pulp Ten books to read after Jurassic World (and five to avoid)
Taste Dive IF YOU LIKE
Tor 6 Crazy SF Books Featuring Dinos that are Somehow NOTJurassic Park